We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value...friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value...friendly staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

This is not a resort hotel but fine for an overnight stop. Front desk clerk was very friendly and room was quite large, roomy and tidy. A couple of resteraunts are right across the road so food not far away. All in all very happy with the experience

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    140
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
142
134
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The Ramona Best Western' was very nice, the room was much nicer than the outside. Very clean and nice bathroom and decor. Clean bedding and very comfortable to stay in. We only stayed one night and found the hotel by driving past and enquiring prices at all the nearby hotels/motels. We booked here because it was clean and a good price
BUT!!
It wasn't until we had booked in and hand over credit details etc.. that we noticed a sign on the wall in the reception stating a Health Warning - saying chemicals in this area could cause cancer or birth defects. And then saw the same warning sign on the balcony stairs when going up to our room.
This did make us feel a bit un-easy and not keen on using the water or walk around outside with bare feet etc. We are still not sure what this warning was about nor wether the other hotels in the same area had warning signs too? I have tried to find out on the internet since arriving home - no luck!
The hotel was very plesant though, although the man in the next room did come and knock on our door and said he could hear us. Even though we weren't making any more noise than normal and we couldn't hear him! The breakfast room was in reception and we didn't use it, but we did use the free internet (after the staff member had used it and made us wait!).
Not sure if it would have been a good place to stay for longer as I think it was on the outskirts of the town, but it was fine for our stay.
Happy to reccomend, but might have been nice to be told what the health warning meant when checking in. Also on checking out the lady charged room to my visa but we had already told them we wanted to paid by cash.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I would like to be fair with this evaluation. The motel was easy to find, check in was fast, thought there might be a glitch as Expedia had said we were staying three nights instead of the two we had paid for but it was straightened out in a few minutes. I went with my father, son and daughter-n-law and three grandchildren as a quick get a way. Expedia had asked for rooms next to each other and we did get that. We stayed two nights, the second day we all went to the hot tub only to find it was not working, we were told the pool was heated so we went there only to find it was cold water, obviously not heated. I thought the rooms looked clean until I noticed a hair band on the floor and told my granddaughter she needed to get her hair band and she told me it was not hers. Wifi did not work well but picked up signal from motel next door easily. I always felt the whole motel was simply crammed together to make money, and I did not think it was worth the price paid. I would not stay again, definitely not with kids.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank metraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Everything was broken at this hotel, including the TV, the shower and the spa. The wi-fi didn´t work and nobody could help me. You have the breakfast at the lobby and there is only 6 chairs for all the rooms!!! I do not recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSAOPAULO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a typical Best Western, clean room, good location, no frills.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Excellent value for money, rooms were spotless & very big. Best choice for breakfast in any motel we had stayed in. We had stayed in a few questionable motels so really didn't have high hopes but it was a very pleasant surprise. The day we arrived they were doing a spring clean so maybe we just got lucky but hopefully they have kept the standards up! Internet was a bit slow but the fact that it was available without us having a laptop was a big plus. Front desk were very helpful & enthusiastic! Its a bit outside Monterey town, you would definitely need a car to get around.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We booked here as a last resort, when everywhere else was booked up for the local car events in August and was a bit worried we'd be far away in an awful travelodge style place. However we were pleasantly suprised. As a base for sightseeing locally (we stayed 2 nights), the place worked fine. We were in Room 1 on the ground floor and were able to have a quiet night's sleep and have a hassle-free stay. It didn't have the feel of a spotless place, but was perfectly clean and tidy, was a large, comfortable room. We didn't have a roll-in shower, which we'd have preferred but had a bath/shower so not great for wheelchair accessibility but otherwise fine.

There was a good continental breakfast available in the morning and although space was tight in the lobby for this, we were happy. ALso it offers free internet access which we thought was great for a place like this. Overall, we found it much better than comparably priced hotels in England and would much prefer this over a uk travelodge or premier travel inn anyday. However, it is basic and not luxurious.

  • Liked — value for money and good sized room, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — not great position
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hevvystrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.4 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#23 of 56 in Monterey
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 56 in Monterey
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Property: Pacific Inn Monterey
Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing