We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a typical Best Western, clean room, good location, no frills.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    127
    84
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
126
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Excellent value for money, rooms were spotless & very big. Best choice for breakfast in any motel we had stayed in. We had stayed in a few questionable motels so really didn't have high hopes but it was a very pleasant surprise. The day we arrived they were doing a spring clean so maybe we just got lucky but hopefully they have kept the standards up! Internet was a bit slow but the fact that it was available without us having a laptop was a big plus. Front desk were very helpful & enthusiastic! Its a bit outside Monterey town, you would definitely need a car to get around.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

We booked here as a last resort, when everywhere else was booked up for the local car events in August and was a bit worried we'd be far away in an awful travelodge style place. However we were pleasantly suprised. As a base for sightseeing locally (we stayed 2 nights), the place worked fine. We were in Room 1 on the ground floor and were able to have a quiet night's sleep and have a hassle-free stay. It didn't have the feel of a spotless place, but was perfectly clean and tidy, was a large, comfortable room. We didn't have a roll-in shower, which we'd have preferred but had a bath/shower so not great for wheelchair accessibility but otherwise fine.

There was a good continental breakfast available in the morning and although space was tight in the lobby for this, we were happy. ALso it offers free internet access which we thought was great for a place like this. Overall, we found it much better than comparably priced hotels in England and would much prefer this over a uk travelodge or premier travel inn anyday. However, it is basic and not luxurious.

  • Liked — value for money and good sized room, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — not great position
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hevvystrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

Terrible experience. Be very careful and make sure you check your statements. Will never, ever book with this hotel and Best Western customer service is not much help either. Very, very disappointed.

  • Disliked — reservations
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Sandee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

The motel is located a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Monterey, but very close to a drugstore and some restaurants.

Our room was fine and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There are free internet access and free parking.

There are two small pools, one of them is right beside a busy road though. There's a small breakfast buffet with cerial, bread, danish and coffee.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The pools
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tira_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

Never Again - Terrible low rent motel at an outrageous price for a weekend stay.

The carpets were stained, the microwave timer came on but did not shut off, the bed tipped over when we sat on the edge. That was the start. Fortunately we had cool weather when we were in Monterey, because this motel has no air conditioners, at least not in our room.
The pool is a hole next to the road, and traffic noise in the room was terrible. Other items in the room were defective, such as the shower diverter and the tv remote, and bathroom window had no lock - not good for a ground level room. The toilet wobbled. Loose dirt on the carpet was still there when we left, and the coffee machine was dirty when we arrived.

We counted on the Best Western name, but obviously the company does not really check on it's member hotels. Or if they did, the inspectors were blind. Stay away from this place.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CanKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

I think this place falls solidly within the classification of a motel versus a hotel.

We arrived quite late, and found the parking lot full (we learned the next morning that there was an event going on locally and that accounted for the higher than average occupancy), mostly due to a large truck that had been parked across several individual parking spaces. We had to take the one lone space that was located right at the entrance/exit, which made me a bit nervous about people coming in and out of this rather tight parking lot.

The front office was closed, but when we rang the night bell, we got a quick response and the owner/manager was at the window to hand us our key in a couple of minutes.

The room was plain, but clean and not too small. The bath was rather small, and the room did get quite a bit of the nearby street noise, though not an annoying amount for a city-dweller.

Basically, we slept for about six hours then left first thing in the morning. Check out was hassle-free and for what we needed, this place fit the bill just fine.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maisany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Property: Pacific Inn Monterey
Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing