We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good - it is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good - it is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here two nights on a trip up the coast. We had a promo code on Expedia and got the room for about $120 a night (not including taxes, etc.). It is a very basic motel (outside entrances) with some remodeling going on. Our room had obviously been recently repainted, but seemed to be a bit unfinished. For example a power strip was used to provide electricity to the small refrigerator and coffeemaker (can't imagine that meets the building code). Also, the shower valve was backwards with hot water on the opposite side as usual. Parking is free, but rather cramped among the 3 or 4 buildings. Breakfast was typical (hard boiled eggs, waffle maker, yogurt, etc.) but was a little light on fruit - just bananas. Also, there is not pool - it has been filled in and planted with grass.
Having said all that, the Pacific Inn also has its attributes. It was very clean and the bed was large and comfortable. The free wi-fi also worked very well. It is about a 10 minute drive to the cannery row/aquarium area of Monteray, but the close freeway entrance makes it an easy trip. The neighborhood is ok, but not great. CVS and Safeway nearby, but also an adult bookstore and shop. Mostly just an odd mix of small business and small hotels/motels and fast food/cafes.
If you aren't looking for something fancy, but just need a nice clean and comfortable room. This isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beagleman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    127
    84
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
126
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night passing through Monterey. The location is good and the rooms were clean. Of course it is not a 5 star hotel, but it is good value for money. And of course it is a good thing that breakfast is included.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Pacific Inn. Judging by the older comments and pictures this little Inn has come a long way baby! Although not completely done, our room 104 was clean, had new carpet ( the moldings weren't even installed yet) new blinds and fresh paint. The office has been remodeled and the outside of the Inn has been painted. There were crews there working the entire time we were there.

Breakfast was good and plentiful. Excellent coffee, juices, muffins, toast, waffles, and several cereals.

The location was excellent. Minutes from the wharf and moments from the hwy heading north.

It seems management is working very hard to get this Inn up to a better standard. Give them a try I don't think you will be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2old2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in the pacific inn while on the west coast roadtrip. Pretty good location, loads of food places around and the motel is pretty decent-clean, good service, big rooms and simple breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is a steel at this price, it is a little out of town but you can drive in or get the bus without major problem, the air con is a little loud but does the job and the breakfast was really good. WiFi access was no trouble. Coming from the UK we loved the motel feel but without any of the nightmare reports of the problems with this sort of accommodation. Our room was very large and clear and the staff were helpful. Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great location for the cali roots festival. Rooms seemed half remodeled though. Need better bedding. Faucets are opposite, so beware. All in all, clean, quiet. Just far enough away from all the mumbo jumbo.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linlinmathieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Kurrajong NSW
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The best & largest Motel room we have ever stayed in. It was nice to be able to spread out in a room with a separate dining table, lounge area, with a large wood fireplace. Room was private and quiet, with Balcony looking into a nice private, bushy grove. 5 min walk to Wharf area...great selection of restaurants. Would stay again, without hesitation

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Property: Pacific Inn Monterey
Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing