We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shaddy & dangerous place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shaddy & dangerous place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of the worst experience with this motel with a shaddy bussiness practise. The attitude of the front desk lady boils down to downright racist & rude behavior. I had booked a room thru hotwire a month back for couple of hundred bucks for a night stay with my family. Upon reaching the hotel during the night time the front desk lady refused downright that there is any room available & all the rooms were booked. She mentioned that expedia double booked the room , lame excuse? Expedia??? I mentioned that i booked thru hotwire & she says "well they are all the same, go deal with hotwire". Obviously they had sold my room to somebody else for higher price, may be they thought i won't be checking in as it was around 8:30pm. I had to call hotwire customer service & they were kind enough to route me to another hotel near by, they were totally surprised as well. This is the first time this has happened to me, never had any issues with hotwire before.

Now the interesting part, while i was talking to the front desk lady a cop came by and stood behind me. As i was about to leave the place i heard him talking to the front desk lady enquiring how long she was working there & stuff. Then he was enquiring the whereabouts of couple of persons who were staying last night, maybe prostitution ?? Drug dealers ?? The area does not seem to be safe & there is 100% illegal activity going on. Be very careful before you book this place, i was later glad that i didn't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venkat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    127
    84
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
126
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Please don’t misunderstand my rating of 4.
This motel was certainly not the nicest place I have ever stayed in with the best breakfast of all times. But if I compare the price (78 USD incl. fees and taxes for a king bed room) with other places I have stayed, I have to rate the Pacific Inn higher than the others because it was really good value for money.
Actually, the price is the only reason I forgive them for the throw-away breakfast with paper cups, plastic plates and plastic knifes and spoons. I really hate to eat without real tableware.

The inn is located on N Freemont Street where you find lots of motels. Several inexpensive dining places and a big supermarket are in walking distance.
The room was quite spacious and clean. We had a quiet night’s sleep in the comfy bed. The bathroom features a big shower in a bathtub. Wi-fi didn’t work optimal.
So, if you don’t have any special high expectations this is a good place to stay.
I myself would probably choose another place the next time in Monterey. It would have been nice to be closer to the beautiful marina or to Cannery Wharf. To park your car near the Bay Aquarium is quite expensive, so an accommodation in this area would have had further advantages.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Upon check in, the young lady was very friendly. But let's get to why I rate this so low.

. I know I booked a budget hotel but I did not anticipate such a place. Our room did not have a kick plate at bottom of door. Leaving a good 2 inch gap to the outside. So. Just about any mouse or giant bug can just call my room, luggage or bed home whenever they wanted. The sliding window did not shut all the way and would not lock. Looking at the individuals cruising the area, this does not make me feel safe to have a window or door not secure especially with two young travelers.

The carpet was disgusting! But I could have already given myself an unfair view based on the door and window situation. For this reason I decide to give it a shot and go to the front desk to address issue. Manager smells of vodka from six feet away. Very friendly and tried to accommodate but with the obvious drug addicts sitting, socializing with manager and his stench of alcohol we decide to check out immediately! Use caution please! It really is not the best of neighborhoods either. I do not suggest any hotel on Fremond street. Try Munras first for a budget hotel!

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room? A different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeb518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location for budget travelers. Our family of four arrived late and were told there was no vacancy (even tho we made a prior reservation through hotels.com). Bill, the front desk attendant, was able to find us a room anyway and was very accommodating and friendly. The room wasn't quite ready when we got there (no clean towels) and the exhaust fan in the bathroom emitted a terrible sewage smell. The next day we moved to another room and it was fine-- clean and comfortable, but definitely not fancy. The two nights we were there, the key card machine was broken, so the room had to be opened for us. The towels were very thin, breakfast was very basic, no pool. Still, most accommodations in Monterey are extremely expensive--this place works fine as long as you don't plan to spend an awful lot of time in your hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
334 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Pacific Inn. The property was very neat and tidy. The rooms were very large by todays standards. The bed was comfortable & the room was clean. I also liked the fact that they had Dish TV and a larger refridgerator in the room. The bathroom was a bit small, but it was quite adequate. I wouldstay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttocsnodrog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on our road trip down the coast. Service from manager and employees was exceptional! Great room, very clean, fridge, microwave and great value. Location excellent! Great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanishman942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was very skeptical about this hotel after I reserved it on Hotwire. The most recent reviews were very negative and I was concerned about safety because I'm a single mom with a toddler.
We arrived several hours later than our original itinerary and we were unable to go to the aquarium because it was obviously after 7 PM in fact it was more like 9:30 PM and it was dark out.

Our room was perfectly clean, it was nicer than I expected, it"s a small hotel with a small parking area, all the cars there were very nice vehicles. No matter where you parked you were really close to your room because of the way the hotel is set up.

The breakfast in the morning is just perfect for something you want to grab quick and get back on the road.

The people I encountered the front desk attendant, the cleaning attendant, everyone was extremely nice and professional.

We will be back if we ever come back to Monterey.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renni1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Property: Pacific Inn Monterey
Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing