We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Emmendingen, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Room was OK, a bit noisy from a concert in the neighborhood that evening
I thought the shower was not working, but the friendly guy in the reception told me to use violence, "you think it will break, but it won't"
The breakfast was included, but the cheap "all plastic" experience, which I dislike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BengtHUlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    129
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
135
128
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were pleasantly greeted by a friendly man at the front desk, very cheerful and helpful.

Walls are a bit thin and we heard the party next door for a couple of hours. It was late so we called the manager so we could get some sleep, and he said he'd do a walk-by and politely ask them to keep it down, without letting on that we'd complained. It worked perfectly. Thank you, Mr. Manager!

The bed was comfortable so we had a good night sleep both nights. Our sink wasn't draining so we let the manager know and he sent someone right away to fix it. It was taken care of immediately so we have no complaints.

Breakfast was included, and that is always appreciated! They had a waffle maker, therefore we had skyrocketing blood sugar levels for a few hours. ;)

This is a dog-friendly hotel. If you have a social event to attend and need a place to board the dogs, there is a kennel two blocks from here called "Dog Gone It" so it worked out perfectly. We highly recommend Dog Gone It! We left our 2 dogs overnight with them. It's a nice kennel, very friendly, professional and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was an unusual property, The space for the whole complex was so small. Some parking was tight and angled in odd ways. This was not necessarily bad unless you were trying to get in a tight spot but there is a small lot in front . Some of the photos provided by other travelers are accurate. One photo that is not accurate is the Breakfast Room photo that was provided by the property itself. The breakfast room was TINY only providing 2 small round tables and maybe 8 chairs. It was a small wedge shaped room about the size of a large walk-in closet. The food selection was adequate, but not outstanding. Many people came and went having no place to sit, rather carrying breakfast to their room The photo provided by the hotel totally does not look like this property. There were no white stair cases through the window unless there was another Breakfast room. The desk clerk showed us the one I described and the guests were using the location as I described and other guests photographed. All that said, the location was nice for a quick drive to the harbor. The rate first quoted was too high, but the clerk honored the coupon price making it acceptable. The room was large enough and clean. Although the bathtub drain plug did not work. The personnel were nice and accommodating fulfilling a special request quickly and easily. Yes, I would stay again, provided the price was the coupon price. For supper we were directed down the street to Black Bear Diner. (That was a great recommendation) fyi The info we had, mentioned a pool at this property. The pool is not longer there but filled in with grass growing for a fenced in doggy run! Overall a neat and clean property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShurleyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spent one night at the Ramona Inn during a road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles in August 2012. I think it's an average hotel (motel?) but it's clean and comfortable enough. I'd probably stay elsewhere if I go to Monterey again but anyone that needs a hotel for one night in the area can safely stay at Ramona Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peligrozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean, comfortable, well furnished & maintained & all at a great price too! The staff were very accommodating allowing us to check in early on the day of our arrival & we also requested a bottom level room as we had a lot of luggage that we didn't want to lug upstairs which the hotel was happy to accommodate us with. The location was also great, a short drive into the main part of Monterey & also convenient if you were going to the Moto GP at Laguna Seca & the beach is also a short drive away. The manager of the hotel was also a pleasure to deal with giving us tips on where to eat & local sites & attractions to visit. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean, odor-free and comfortable room. Well-appointed amenities. Entry-level desk staff was very nice but made several minor mistakes, fortunately the owner is very personable and usually around to resolve matters. The sink drain runs slow, as others have reported; in need of a trap cleaning. Everything else was in very good order. My wife and I are picky guests but we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_elms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I knew we were in trouble when we drove up. The property looks like it has seen much better days - a long time ago. The Best Western website described it as having a pool and spa - the reason we picked it - and it had neither!!! The clerk said that they had been gone for awhile and that they have tried to get the website updated - guess they aren't trying hard enough. The room was unimpressive. The stairs leading to the room were shaky and very steep. The breakfast room was so small that our family of five filled it up! The food was typical Best Western. I wrote a letter complaining and got an interesting reply offering to try harder the next time I stay there - they don't have to worry I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#23 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Property: Pacific Inn Monterey
Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing