We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here, last time in 2010. It is in a good location, close to town (10 min walk) Its a nice walk to Cannery Row. The staff were very helpful especially Lourdes. The breakfasts were adequate. Rooms clean and good facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 928 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

No air conditioning. Had to sleep with widows open & Birds made lots of noise day & night. - Had a hard time sleeping Food is bad - meat served made you gag. Not much choice of what to eat. Had to go out to eat. Parking spaces too tight - Had to back out to let passengers out & in

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location for downtown Monterey, ample parking, adequate breakfast (cereal, waffles, apples, oranges, toast, coffee, tea). Room clean and plenty big enough. BUT, our room was on the 2nd floor. (I had requested a top floor room but none were available.) This property has the thinnest wall, floors, and ceilings of any hotel I've stayed in! Normal conversations can easily be heard in adjacent rooms. Footsteps overhead go creak, creak very loudly. Making matters worse, there is no AC so there is no room fan to use as a noise maker for masking unwanted noise. Bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TeleBoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice quiet hotel, walking distance to downtown and wharf. Excellent parking options with upper & lower garages under the hotel. I booked this hotel because they offered a continental breakfast. It was not mentioned when we checked in and I never found a dining room or how to get to the pool area. The guys at the front desk were great; there was a lady who did not acknowledge our presence, much less answer questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff was extremely friendly & accommodating; room was spotless; pool was small & needs updating; FREE full breakfast; no AC (but, even 5-star hotels in the area are w/out AC - a table fan was available upon check-in & rooms have ceiling fans & balcony doors w/screens); hotel was great value for the area (Monterey hotels are ALL over-priced); close to Monterey Bay Aquarium/Cannery Row; would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Booked at the last minute for three nights. Arrived with truck & trailer in tow to discover their spacious parking is in a multi level garage. Was able to park curbside so it worked ok. Room has the typical Best Western deodorizer which makes you think they are making someone smoking in a no smoking facility. Wireless worked most of the time. Linens felt good, but mattress felt lumpy and fixing sleep very well. Complementary breakfast was consumed by the large number of kids. Staff could not keep up with the kids eating. Coffee was good. Hot tub was hot! Pool good also, both just very small, and frequently over run with unsupervised kids. Water line in area broke before our arrival and water was brown. Not hotels fault. They did provide some free bottled water bug not until our 2nd day. Morning staff was pretty defensive about the problem instead of being apologetic. Could take a lesson in handling damage control. Couldn't make A/C work, no bath tub and shower is a small square. All in all, the hotel is probably one of the better facilities in town, at $160 and $200/ nite.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tlittle2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice Hotel , central Monterey , within walking distance to many Restaurants , the Beach . Great Parking Garage. Clean Rooms , great Bed , small Dining room , good selection for Breakfast but way to small facility. Coffee set up in room with real cups not plastic a nice tough , Fridge , microwave .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Bubbles123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $118 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing