We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Kelowna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is great, nice rooms and great breakfast and the pool and hot tub are great too. Hotel is a nice walk to the wharf and the ocean. We did a whale watching tour the day that we checked out and they suggested that we park our car at the hotel after we checked out and walk down to the boat instead of paying parking downtown. very accommodating staff and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    310
    120
    44
    18
See reviews for
259
281
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is our first time in Monterey and we chose this hotel because it is a best western and the location. When we arrived we were told our room is on the first floor two doors to the right from the lobby (114). I asked if we could have a different room that would be quieter and was told 'this is our last room.' The hotel staff then assured me it was a quiet room. When we entered, the room smelled and the carpet felt wet. It was fairly quiet but you could hear every noise in the hallway. People talking, doors slamming and kids running. To make matters worse, the toilet clogged and my husband had to get a plumber's helper to clear it. I do not consider this a 3 star hotel. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We experienced friendly staff during check-in, a clean and well appointed room, comfortable bed during our 2 night stay in Monterey. We requested a 3rd floor room because I read reviews about noise from rooms above. We had no noise issues. No view to speak of, but we didn't spend time in the room except to sleep. Location was within walking distance to downtown. Breakfast was not so good, although plenty of other people were eating it. Nice bakery around corner as well as Denny's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We love staying at Best Western Hotels. They are all in great locations. Easy to walk to all of the sites. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfasts are adequate. This is the first time the check in staff was not friendly or helpful. Went back later when that staff member had left.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First, the pros: free wi-fi and breakfast, decent location, and friendly and helpful staff. But the cons outweigh these pros - most importantly, the rooms have the thinnest walls I have ever experienced. We could hear the conversations of the people in the next room, and it sounded like a herd of elephants were in the room above us. I felt sorry for the people below us, even though we tried to walk quietly. If you have young children or are a light sleeper, I highly advise avoiding this hotel. Next, the breakfast--while free, and staffed by a very nice lady--is pretty pathetic. Microwave pancakes are pretty gross. The breakfast room is tiny compared to the number of people trying to crowd in, and having only one staff member dedicated to getting all the food out is just ridiculous. Plus, Monterey is a big destination for families - and there is exactly one high chair available. So if you have two young children, or arrive at a time when another family is using the high chair, you're out of luck. Finally, the price. I'm sorry, I know all the hotels in Monterey are expensive, but the price we were charged, given the poor quality of the room, is just unconscionable. As my husband puts it, Monterey is crowded with over-priced, poorly-made hotels. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedScarf106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enjoyed the accommodation and the staff. The continental breakfast was good, crowded and the food went fast. Some guests had to dine in the lobby. We had to sit at two different tables and with our luck both tables needed leveling. Rocking tables make unhappy and uncomfortable diners. We were there with the 4 year old great-granddaughter for the aquarium, the tickets were included in the room cost, easier than standing in line at the venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was good. It was a decent price compared to other hotels in the area. It was walking distance to the beach. About a 10 or 15 minute walk. It was quiet. Very clean and neat. Breakfast was really good. There was someone making eggs and sausage the whole time. The people at the front desk was very nice during check in and check out. They were even nice when we were running late for check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Best Western + Iniative, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing