We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE, BAD, ROACH MOTEL WOULD BE BETTER!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, BAD, ROACH MOTEL WOULD BE BETTER!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at no one should ever stay there! Nothing is up to date and the service is horrible! The price I paid is not even close for what I received! I highly recommend staying anywhere else but this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jmiranda44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    372
    134
    53
    23
See reviews for
336
340
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location's not so great. The customer service was very nice. The room was clean, but it smelled odd. We were checked into an accessible room, so the bathroom was giant. The Breakfast was one of the worst I'd ever had at a hotel and I was given the option of either breakfast OR wi-fi. I'll find somewhere else to stay if I ever go back to Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very clean motel with reasonable rates for Monterey area. This place is walking distance to Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium. Family friendly with an actually edible breakfast included with the room. Coffee is very good, too, in the breakfast room. Every room has a refrigerator. I had a king room, and it was very spacious. This motel is very clean and very well maintained. Staff is friendly and very helpful. No air conditioning, but in Monterey even in July you don't really need it. I think that every room has a little balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back if you want the most quiet. Abrego Street is wide, but not reallyu v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SactoDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Best Western Chain has been able to accommodate me and my ever changing itinerary since February. Awesome place. Easy check in and check out. I would recommend these locations to everyone. It truly feels like home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room was very large with fireplace and a nice view. Everything was extremely clean and looked new. Towels were large and fluffy and the bed was very comfortable. The orchid in our room and others placed throughout the motel were a very nice touch. Loved the convenience of parking underground with direct elevator access to our floor. Breakfast, included in the price, was fairly good. The scrambled eggs were too dry, but there were many other items to choose from such a bagels, sweet rolls, pancakes, cereal and fruit. The coffee was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Renate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an ok stay here.. could see the bay from our balcony. Not sure what the PLUS is for with this Best Western though. the room was nice & clean, but the pool is very small & the Hot Tub fits like 2 people. The breakfast is nice if you can get some.. while there are many selections, there is only 1-staff member assigned to make eggs, pancakes, bacon etc & at 9am there was a 15 minute wait longer for the 4 families behind us.. come on-really..!!!

My biggest gripe is that there is NO AIRCONDITIONING it was in the 80s & the little ceiling fan was so inadequate.

I much prefer the Holiday express but unfortunately they were booked so we only stayed 1 night & spent the rest of our trip elsewhere.

The hotel is just minutes from Cannery row & the Warf & Aquarium

Room Tip: bring a portable air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monterey Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing