We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rate, good option in pricey Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Because of low volume on a Monday night, we were upgraded to a top-floor king room with a fireplace. It was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. (However, the walls were so thin that I could hear people yawn in the room next door!) Everything was in working order and the staff was efficient and approachable. The wi-fi was a little sluggish, but it worked well enough. We were happy to be able to park in a protected underground lot. I am not sure what other reviewers mean about a harbor view, as we were at least six blocks from the wharf, which was a reasonable walk for dinner but not super-close. Breakfast (from 7-10) had plenty of options and the staff kept everything replenished. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 928 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past two months, each for one night. In general, I like Best Westerns because they have free internet, free breakfast (more than just cereal and fruit), and they tend to have very comfortable beds. This one really goes above and beyond the others, though, and is still comparable in price. Very comfortable beds and pillows, extremely clean, friendly staff, well-lit parking garage, great breakfast. It's very quiet at nice and most rooms have balconies - some with peakaboo views of the water. Also, I love the motion activated night-light light switches in the bathrooms. What a great touch!

All around a fantastic deal. A bit too far to walk to the Aquarium and cannery row, but there are several restaurants within walking distance and its a short drive to the major attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with a harbor view - it's wonderful to step out with your coffee i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tucketblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We originally had only planned to stay one night at this hotel but it was so nice and comfortable that we decided to stay another night! Joshua on the front desk was so welcoming and helpful and gave us a lovely room complete with fireplace. It was a cool time in Monterey so we used the fireplace quite a bit on both nights. The bed was sooo comfortable as well as the pillows. The room was very large and the bathroom was great as well. Very clean and very good service. We were on the third floor and it was very quiet. The only negative we could say tha the breakfast room was very cramped but understand that this area will be revamped shortly. The hotel is very central to downtown as well as close to a major shopping mall up the street which was a nice surprise! We were heading to Carmel but so glad we stopped at this hotel instead. Would definitely return here and would recommend anyone to try it as well!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here with our nine month old son based on many reviews. I have to say that previous reviews about the staff being unpleasant were unfounded. In fact, staff were extremely accommodating--when checking in, we half heartedly asked the front desk clerk if it were possible to store our small trailer attachment we had used to haul all the baby gear. The clerk readily accommodated us, which was extremely nice of him given that he didn't have to. The continental breakfast was better than expected, the rooms were, like others have affirmed, on the larger side, which was really nice to see. I did take the advice of other reviewers and requested a corner room, which we had, so I'm not sure about the size of the other rooms. We had no issues with noise, the room was extremely clean, and it was really nice to have a fridge considering we had a baby with us. For parents with small babies, just know that the room may not have a tub for bathing--this made things a little difficult. Location is good though, the parking was free (an extra bonus), the staff was great (even let us check in way early), and the overall experience was better than expected, especially for the cost. I've learned that when you have a baby with you, you become more discriminating. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for sure...quieter, and definitely on the larger side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

A very large room for the price with a large comfy bed. Lots of free parking. About 15 min walk to Fishermans Wharf. We would stay here again. Only negative was the dated bathroom However for one night it was fine

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The best part of this hotel was the size of the room - we had a king bed, table and chairs and lots of extra space. The desk staff were the least friendly of all the places we've stayed but the housekeeping and breakfast ladies were always friendly. A pretty good location - just a few blocks from downtown where lots of restaurants are. One negative - garbage trucks started early every morning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank RAY_RAY_007
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $118 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing