We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like you're in Hawaii - minus airfare, humidity, & mosquitoes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel like you're in Hawaii - minus airfare, humidity, & mosquitoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Terrific location, charming tropical setting complete with healthy plants, trees, pool, jacuzzi in an ocean-view setting. What a gem - so close to the SF bay area. Affordable rooms, accommodating staff, close to bike trails, steps away from private beach, walking distance to the outskirts of Seaside and Monterey. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Quiet enough for relaxing but family-friendly as well. Bicycles for rent, good sized workout room, large pool and jacuzzi. Only thing was you were req'd to leave towels at the pool. How can you keep warm in the oceanside wind w/o the towel? Room service food quality (pizza) mediocre. Service quick enough. Rooms appointed with state-of-the art automatic shades and tasteful contemporary fixtures.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    349
    128
    49
    21
See reviews for
300
324
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Room was clean and spacious from our first impression, but various issues emerged after settling in.

1) Thin wall and poor insulation:
Our room was located close to front desk . We could hear noise all night long from not just the front desk but also from all directions. The noise penetrated into our room including the sound made by the front desk staff moving decorative stones in the lobby, people chatting in front lobby, TV noise and snoring from next door, children running in the hallway, doors slamming, creaking noise of footsteps upstairs, squeaking noise from other rooms by turning on and off the faucets, garbage or construction trucks loading things from the back road....

2) Service:
We tried staying in the assigned room for 10 minutes and asked if there's another quieter room available. The front desk lady said we should have told her earlier and we have already used the room. The only room we could switch to was one that is facing the street. So we ended up staying in the same room.

3) Temperature control:
Thermostat in room is not adjustable. Either it's on constant heat with set temperature or you turn it off. When it was on, the room became too warm. When it was off, the room was too old. I ended up sleeping with coldness.

4) Breakfast:
Regular continental breakfast without hot waffles but with a few supposed-to-be warm items, such as scramble egg and french toast. Scramble egg seemed to be made with artificial mixture and shaped like cold moist pancakes. French toast was cold and soggy.

Overall speaking, this room was clean, spacious and updated, but the overall quality doesn't match up with all the standard Best Western inns we have stayed in. Other than its decoration and cleanliness, the quality of this place is closer to a Motel 6/Super 8. With pretty much the same price, I'd recommend the Best Western Park Crest Inn just a few blocks down the road. I had a much better stay there last year.

Room Tip: Highest floor facing the back may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had to book this place on very short notice in order to spend a night in Monterey.

POSITIVE:
- Short notice availability
- Subterranean parking included in rate ($119)
- Rooms very decently sized with good closet space

NEGATIVE:
- Walls are made of cardboard (I could hear everything my next door and upstairs neighbors were doing. Also, there were many kids on my floor, making it sound like a playground at times)
- The breakfast room has the charm of a bus shelter

I want to be fair though: obviously this place is more of a motel rather than a genuine hotel therefore I should have adjusted my expectations. In their own league they might be doing OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeegeeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Best Western Plus Monterey Inn is one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed in, which is a great compliment considering the many properties we have gotten to know over the past decades due to my husband's profession. The grounds and facilities are well taken care of and very clean. We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff upon arrival. The room was a wonderful surprise. It was spacious, clean and very well furnished with quality furniture and linens. We chose to stay at the Best Western as we won a gift certificate at a local school auction. This gift certificate was donated by the manager to fund the enrichment programs (P.E., art, science and music) that would otherwise not exist at the school. After this stay, I highly recommend this property, not just because of the generosity its management, but also because of the quality we received. Management certainly cares about the local community and its customers. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay that allowed my family to relax and recharge our batteries during a long move and thank you so very much for supporting La Mesa Elementary School.

Room Tip: If possible, book a corner room. We loved the additional space, privacy and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _simply_my_2_cents_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice hotel and good breakfast. Fairly accessible to all areas of monterey, friendly staff and they were very helpful. Underground parking was very convient, and seemed safe. Maybe more lighting in parking area would be nice


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I always feel safe and comfortable when staying at the Monterey Inn Best Western.

The rooms are spacious and the Continental Breakfast is very good. I highly recommend Monterey Inn Best Western. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing