We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here two nights April 2012. Staff at check in was very nice and made this quick and easy to register. We booked a room with two queen beds. It was a basic room, nothing special, however was clean and comfortable. There was an old TV in a cabinet, not a flat screen. The bathroom was nicely updated with a new shower. The only downside was the noise as noted in other reviews. You could hear everything in the adjoining rooms as well as the room on the next floor up. Location was ok, though if you are there to see the aquarium, it is too far to walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karero99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    349
    128
    49
    21
See reviews for
300
324
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in April to break a San Francisco/las Vegas holiday. Room was very basic but adequate and clean. One gripe was it was very noisy and you could hear everything going on outside in the corridors. Breakfast area was too small for number of guests and this put us off having the already paid for breakfast so we went out. Monterey itself is stunning, close to tour Carmel and 17mile drive and the hotel was within easy walking distance of restaurants and the wharf.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

And that's all we needed. clean, comfortable room, although very thin walls and noisy, noisy hallways. Adequate for our one-night visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Best Western is stepping up it's game. Just stayed at this property (March 11-13). Appears they are upgraded the hotel (BW Plus). Staff was very friendly, room was clean and spacious (we had 2 queen beds), amenities were good (good size desk/table, 2 chairs, an mini fridge, free wi-fi (a little on the slow side, but it worked for what we wanted to do online), nice towels (not huge, but a good thickness and quantity - I think we had 4 bath towels, 3 face clothes and 4 hand towels). Continental breakfast - juices, coffee, tea / breads, pastries, muffins / dollar pancakes, sausage, and funny little mini scrambles eggs. Was just enough to start the day. Free underground parking. Can't think of any reals "cons" - the hall was a little noisy in the evening, but past 10pm - didn't hear much (there is a little gap under the door) - was never awakened from noise in the next room or hallway. Close to the highway and on a fairly direct route to fishermans warf and the aquarium. Will definetly stay at this property again next time in Monterey.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 103 and had a good size balcony (looked up an the room above us had slidders but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinaisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and i am recommending it to all of my friends! The front desk staff (Michael) provides the intuitive service you need when you are from out of town. As soon as we arrived (during dinnertime) he suggested a few places to eat (Lopez Restaurant for Mexican food was FABULOUS!); as soon as he saw my nephew step out of the car he told us of a nearby park we could take him to and explained all about the hotel and it's amenities including the wonderful breakfast the next morning. The gal preparing the breakfast hot food and buffet was very nice - i am only sorry i can not recall her name because she was great. I would definitely go back to his hotel if i am ever in Monterey!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elo-jmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The good things are the following:
- parking under the hotel
- good restaurants within walking distance
- decent breakfast
- bus stop only 3 blocks away
The other things are:
- hear lots of noise from the wallways and traffic
- hotel is under renovation (lobby now, 3rd floor next)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rojo-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just returned from a vacation to the Monterey peninsula. This hotel is centrally located for the general area and for the city itself. The room was clean and the night desk clerk was helpful and pleasant. BUT, the walls were very thin and I had to use earplugs at night until our coughing neighbor went to sleep. Worse, the daytime desk clerk was an unpleasant fellow who clearly did not enjoy dealing with people. We had no major problems with him, but he definitely brought down my rating of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seventyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing