We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roomy, clean and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beach Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Roomy, clean and affordable”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We have stayed in this Inn many times throughout the years. It is a great spacious room. Clean, upgraded furnishings. Granite in bathrooms, clean plush towels, new shower heads. Comfortable bed! What more could you want?

Breakfast? Well, they have fruit, coffee and pastry items in lobby every morning. Koi fish pond for the kids to look at. It's not a walk to the downtown area, but a quick 5 minute drive.

I would ask for the third floor and rooms facing the back of the hotel to have a quiet nice stay.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank SCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    313
    100
    27
    5
See reviews for
312
266
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed here one night whilst in the Monterey area. Our main focal point of interest was the aquarium and this is about 5-10 minutes away by car, which was fine by us. For the price we paid the room was huge, clean and comfortable. The people at reception were friendly with directions and helping us out when asked. The hotel is not walking distance to the downtown area or Cannery Row but if you have a car (free parking) and want an affordable place to stay I would have no trouble recommending this place. The decor etc is simple in design and nothing impressive but the hotel is very well kept and there were no issues with cleanliness or hygiene etc.

  • Liked — location and value for money
  • Disliked — nothing i didn't like - it was as expected based on previous reviews
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NojPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed here for one night while we were in the Monterey area. Good value, comfortable beds, clean and quiet room. Staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — Clean affordable rooms
  • Disliked — No complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevelling_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

not only a nice and big ! room but also very nice and helpfull people at the frontdesk
free parking and free coffee etc in the lobby
had no problem with the location because we had a rental car
next time we come back

  • Liked — the room and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

This was the best hotel on our trip and wished we could have stayed longer. The lobby had large Koi which made the lobby appear like a five star hotel.

Our room was spacious with a sofa, chair/ottoman and a nice size bathroom. Even though the counter space in the bathroom was standard hotel small, the bathroom was roomy and you didn't feel cramped.

We found the hotel to be in a good location, just 2-3 miles away from the aquarium, cannery and restaurants. The staff was very courteous and provided directions and suggestions for dinner.

The parking lot is tight which was the only downfall of this hotel. We loved our stay at the Best Western in Monterey!

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Tight parking lot
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I frequently travel to Monterey for business and usually stay at the other chains(marriott, hilton, etc). This time however I was forced to find cheaper accomadations because of budget cuts. I had previously read the reviews of this hotel, but was very hesitant to stay here because it is after all just a Best Western. Boy, was I ever wrong! The place is very clean and modern. The rooms are very big and the staff was friendly and efficient. My only complaints are there is not an excercise room and the wireless internet could have been faster. Otherwise, I definitely will be staying here next time I'm in town for business. Tip for next time-call the hotel directly when making a reservation as their online price is much higher.

  • Liked — price paid
  • Disliked — no excercise room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank soxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stayed at the Best Western for 2 nights on a visit to Monterey. The hotel is spacious,very clean and comfortable and the rates are reasonable but the location isn't fantastic as it's a few miles to downtown/fisherman's wharf/cannery row. If you're in town for a couple of nights and don't mind driving everywhere, then I'd recommend this hotel, but if you want to be closer to the action this isn't the place for you.

Despite being told when booking that our rate included continental breakfast, this wasn't actually available during our stay due to some kind of problem with the supplier (there's no food available at the hotel, but there are a few restaurants nearby and a great Italian place a couple of mins walk away).The walls are also paper thin, so don't expect much privacy and be prepared to hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door!!

  • Liked — good rates
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing