We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Femont Street - Monterey Ca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, United States
2 reviews
“Best Western Femont Street - Monterey Ca”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Nice hotel in town. Well located. We wanted to stay out of Cannery Row area. Everybody was very helpful and pleasant. Hotel is a bit old... but room was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast is on the "lean" side, but there is a Denny's right next door.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and were pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    327
    105
    27
    6
See reviews for
328
272
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Overall, a good stay. I would echo what many reviewers have already said about noise levels, breakfast, no A/C, etc. Wi-Fi worked fine, breakfast was OK especially for the kids, but the hot water dispenser always seemed to be empty. A lot of small fixes would have made our stay much more enjoyable. Many of the outlets in the Family Suite were "loose" and did not keep items plugged in. The shower faucet in the smaller bathroom did not function properly resulting in only extremely cold or extremely hot water. Thermostatic valves are really needed to prevent scalding when someone in an adjacent room flushes their toilet. While I understand why there is no A/C, a simple solution would be to install ceiling fans to help circulate air and help with cooling the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L6724VVmichaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. I appreciate your taking the time to give your opinion on several issues regarding your stay. I want you to know that we are addressing all of the suggestions mentioned. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The room was large and clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was basic and served in the lobby where about 10 people could be seeted.
Downtown Monterey was only a 5 minute drive, and Carmel not much further, so this is a good starting point to explore the area.
The pool was small and close to the road, but for us not an important thing.
Wifi was free and worked fine.
Overall we thought the hotel gave good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelVoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Your comments were complimentary but I do not feel the overall rating accurately reflected them. I hope readers will take the time to read the entire review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spent one night here with my daughter on our way from LA to San Francisco in June 2014. Location of hotel is off a very busy street full of motels, fast food places, and restaurants, but because of the way the hotel is situated on the property, it is very quiet and feels secluded. Our room was HUGE....two Queen beds, a full size couch, refrigerator, desk, TV and still had room to spare. Would be great for a family with several kids. Clean, well-appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was fine, but not very much room in the breakfast area to sit and eat....had to bring food back to room. Staff at the desk were helpful and friendly.

Green Features: I appreciate the hotel's' attempts to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciated your comments regarding the quality of the guestroom and our friendly staff. We were pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us for families traveling with children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here at the deAnza Inn, first off , the person who helped was extremely helpful and did his best to make our stay at least a little bit comfortable. His name was Javier and he was very kind and we appreciated his service. But, being a family, we tried to get a room with 2 queen beds and unfortunately they did not have any avaible, so 2 of us had to sleep on a very uncomfortable sofa pull out. The following morning, one of my daughters woke with a bug bite on her back, we know it wasn't there before we got to the Inn so I have to look done at the hotel cleanliness wise.....breakfast was a hustle and was indeed very loud and messy. Overall we will proably never stay there in the future for this hotel needs to shape up .....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and am concerned that you didn't ask to speak with me directly regarding the issues experienced while on our property. Please contact me as I wish to review our cleaning and inspection procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stay at this hotel whenever I'm on business in Monterey. The rooms are large, the beds are cozy and the service/breakfast are superior. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The location isn't the greatest, but it's not bad either.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doug-of-Clovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I gave 4 stars because of noise issues and the staff and manager did everything they possibly could to help us out. I felt DeAnza Inn customer service is top notch and worth complimenting them on. The hotel was sold out on our arrival date.

The good:

The room was very big and nicely appointed with chairs, desk and a sofa. Comfy bed, good pillows, decent wifi, clean bathroom. There really aren't any room with "views" given the location of this hotel, but we were fine with that. It is some distance from the Monterey attractions and not within walking distance, but we wanted to be away from those areas anyway. There is a Denny's one one side of hotel and Monterey Cookhouse (steaks, American food and bar), on the other side. CVS is across the street, which was nice. The outside mall is not far from here with good shopping and dining.

The noise: do not stay in Room 104 if you are light sleepers as it is right off the lobby, next to the elevator and dining area. On the plus side, it was nice to get our breakfast items and slip right back to our room to eat! IMHO a room on the 3rd floor away from the elevator would be best.

I will return to this BW because it is a very nice hotel with superior staff and a good location for our travel plans.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TaylorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I appreciated your comments regarding our "top notch service" and was pleased to know you would choose to stay with us again when visiting the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing