We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Was not aware until we arrived that there was no air conditioning in the rooms. We were on the second floor facing the street and when we opened the windows the street noise was so loud we couldnt' hear the tv. So we requested to be moved to a room in the back of the building. Was on the 3rd floor but was a lot quiet especially at night. The sea breeze cooled the room down nicely. Also the hot items on the breakfast menu weren't that good so went next door to Denny's

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Big49fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 842 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

After finding this hotel on line and seeing photos we booked. On arrival everything was great, lobby was good and clean and just as the photos. On entering room, it was dated and worn and didn't feel clean! Not like the photos at all. Talked to the General Manager - Cecile E. Smith about changing rooms, but nothing appropriate at the time. She couldn't do enough for us. She spent a lot of time with us ensuring we were comfortable, even gave us extra sheets to cover the "worn" chairs.
She will do well, I only hope the owners know what a gem they have with her. She needs to be over a much better hotel. The rest of the staff were great too. Don't know if we will stay there again, maybe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am sorry you were not happy with the accommodations provided. As you stated during your stay, you have owned a property and could sympathize with how difficult it can be to maintain, as rooms are occupied on a regular basis. We will be remodeling our lobby this winter and anticipate further enhancements to our guestrooms. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although we arrived too early to check in the front desk clerk prepared the paper work and gave us information about the area as to what to see and do and some suggestions for restaurants. It was a warm welcome. The room was spacious and comfortable with good internet connection. Breakfast area is small but there are trays to take it to your room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your complimentary review and top rating. We sincerely appreciate your mentioning the warm welcome you received upon arrival and the quality of the guest room.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose this hotel specifically to have pool for our grandchildren on family road trip (11 & 13 yrs) and were astonished to find the pool bears no resemblance to the photos online. It's right in parking lot and barely larger than the "spool" in our Phoenix back yard! The children were good sports-they'd discovered they like hotels and this one had large pleasant room.

Breakfast issues: others have mentioned the uncomfortable cramped "breakfast" area right in the small lobby with minimal choices. This was a further factor for us as there was absolutely not one thing our granddaughter (who must eat gluten free) could eat. We resorted to a quick run to nearby Safeway before the children woke up and combined our own yogurt with leftover banana bread we'd packed for the trip. So, on the breakfast front, be aware it's spare and plan accordingly.

Hotel staff pleasant, but overall not the upscale experience we expected from this highly rated hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property. After looking over your evaluation, you gave us 4 out 5 in every category except value, yet the overall rating was only 3 out of 5. I am sorry you felt disappointed, as you were looking for an upscale expereince. Our claim to fame is we are a good value and provide a clean, comfortable room with nice amenities. In addition, this winter we will be making changes to our lobby to better accommodate our complimentary breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed one night visiting customer. Staff was helpful. Would have been nice if they had vogurt for breakfast otherwise good for short stay. Windows in room are drafty. Shower was good. Couch was old and worn. Bed was a bit soft but ok. Garbage truck in parking lot at 6am.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rjmcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful review title. I can assure you that there was not a garbage truck in our parking lot at 6am. Our garbage collection occurs on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, between the hours of 11am and 4pm. It is possible that you heard a truck in the residential neighborhood and the sound travelled. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff is superb, they did everything to make us feel as in home. They also called the 17-Mile Drive gate to check at what time they open during the day.

The room was very big and confy. It came with a microwave and a fridge, so we could save a few bucks eating in our room.

Breakfast was OK and it had a wide selection of items.

Location is perfect, just a few miles away from the 17-mile drive gate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rochirive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your "Great" review of our property and 5 out of 5 rating! We were thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay and the level of the service provided by the front desk agents. We hope you enjoy the rest of your tour of California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October, Friday and Saturday. Our room was so comfortable and clean, we thoroughly enjoyed all the time we spent in the room. This is not something we can usually say about hotel rooms. We had requested top floor which they happily accommodated. Our room had windows on two sides so we had lots of light. The windows opened (what a treat!) so we could easily control the temperature in our room. Our room had a desk with office chair, sofa, chair with ottoman, king sized bed, refrigerator (worked well), microwave (simple but worked), safe (could not get this to lock), TV (never turned it on), and plenty of dressers and night stands to completely move in. The hotel was full on Saturday yet we rarely heard any voices or noises, even though our room was right next to the elevator. The breakfast was minimal, but we are fine with a bowl of Raisin Bran and a fresh orange. Coffee was good. Eating area is tiny but they provide trays and encourage you to take your breakfast back to your room or outside, which was nice. Not many hotels make it easy to take food back to your room. All staff were very pleasant. Cost was great for the area. We will stay in this hotel again. Really loved the size of the room. And it was so clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your mentioning so many positive aspects of your stay. Our Trip Advisor reviews are in the excellent to very good range. We make every effort to provide a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable rate. In addition, our caring staff is available to assist guests 24 hours a day. We care about each guests experience and I believe reviews such as yours reaffirm we are doing a good job. Thanks again for your great posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $99 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing