We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western was a good experience during the Tourist Season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
long Beach, United States
1 review
“Best Western was a good experience during the Tourist Season”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I found the locations of the Best Western convenient for all the Tourist things we had planned. In Monterey we were doing Aquarium, Whale watching and dinning on Cannery Row. The hotel was very conveniently located. The rooms were very comfortable. Although the Complimentary breakfast was adequate, it was not as good as other Best Westerns. They had egg circles instead of scrambled eggs, and no Waffle irons, and the breads were dry. That might have been due to the Ocean environment. But all in all, a good experience and good value during the tourist season. In Monterey we have previously had trouble getting hotel reservations during Holiday. So we were very glad that we did not have to drive to Salinas. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our property. We were pleased your experience at the De Anza was good and you found us to be a good value even in our peak season. We hope to welcome you on your next trip to the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    313
    100
    27
    5
See reviews for
312
266
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

There is no air condition in the room, seriously this is most basic expectation of any room that is well over a 100 dollars, and that is a very important thing they would make clear on their hotel discription. If I known befor hand that their is no AC I would have never boned a room there. Monterey is humid and during summer it is worm, and I fond it deficit to sleep because room became to stuffy and worm during night especially that the hotel is right on a major street and opening and it's too loude to open the window during night, but we did anyway b ause it was to hot inside the room, so we were not able to sleep until after mid night when traffic died down but we also were waked around 6am by the morning traffic. The area the hotel is in looks shady and we did not feel safe walking around. Over all I felt cheated because their website does not clearly say there is no AC in room, if iVe know that I would never have booked the room. I would never stay there again unless they install AC unites in their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PharoMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I found it surprising that you did not read any of our recent reviews since several had mentioned the fact that we do not have in room
air conditioning. Due to our temperate climate (averaging 63 degrees year round) only about 25% of properties on the Peninsula have air conditioing. Also, a rate of over $100 per night would not be unusual during our peak summer season. May I also recommend you consider using spell check before further postings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here August 31-September 2nd. The staff at the front desk was very polite and helpful. They even have kio fish in the lobby. The hotel does face a main street and can be noisy if you get a front room and open up your windows. I wear ear plugs, so it didn't bother me with the windows open. Our room was very spaciest and clean and quiet inside. We were so close to the Monterey County Fair grounds and the country fair was going on that we checked it out. We were within walking distance to any restaurants-like Denny's, Grandmas Kitchen, Subway, etc. My husband ate the breakfast that was offered and enjoyed it. We will differently stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and 5 star rating of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and were pleased you would choose to stay with us again. We at the property also enjoy the koi pond in our lobby! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Overall we had a great stay and the location was close to the highway and the water. The only complaint I have is that our room did not have air conditioning so we had to open the windows at night to cool off our room. Our room was located on the street side of the hotel which made it fairly noisy. Other than that, we found the room to be an adequate size and the decor was nice. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate your mentioning our good value as well as the friendly staff. I apologize that the ceiling fan in your room was not adequate, however, a portable fan was also available by contacting the front desk. A front desk agent is on staff 24 hours to assist guest with these types of issues. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here - huge room, very comfy bed, modern and well decorated. The staff kindly put some chocolates into our room with a kind message as we were celebrating our engagement. There was also a safe, tv, chaise longe and sofa etc - more like a mini suite! Complimentary breakfast was good too - Cereals, toast, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee and fruit. There isn't much seating but having said that we never had a problem finding anywhere to sit and I'm sure you could take it up to your room. Staff were friendly upon check in and the hotel is located a short ride away from town - we drove but you could get a taxi ($15 each way). There's a Denny's and a few other eateries along the road but we much preferred it in town where there was a much larger selection.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiAndShellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful comments and review title; "Loved it here". We were thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay and the extras provided. Congratulations and best wishes on your engagement. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice place.The show stealer was the welcoming/helpful staff. We liked the ambiance and the cleanliness of the hotel. Only negative point was the absence of Air Conditioning system.Because of which it was uncomfortable to sleep at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our property and staff. We were happy to know you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you were not made aware that we do not have air conditioning, however portable fans are available on request. We appreciate your consideration and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time when visiting Monterey! We went to the Aquarium and spent the day wondering around the shops and then went to dinner. Best western de anza is only minutes away from everything that we did. At time we even got a taxi which turned out to be cheaper than paying for parking. Overall the hotel was wonderful! I had no complaints. I think my boyfriend would just say he got hotel inside our room at night but I slept like a baby!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and top rating of our property. We were happy to know you had a great vacation get away. As you mentioned, we are just minutes away from the top area attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing