We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for one night on our way down the coast. Beds were comfortable and room was very clean. Breakfast area very small (not enough tables) but they were planning to make it bigger in the near future so we were told.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property and mentioning our comfortable beds. As you stated, we will be making changes to our lobby to better accommodate our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    297
    98
    27
    5
See reviews for
299
249
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is truly not a complaint. The hotel was clean and the the hotel employees were very present and helpful. The truth was that it is a hotel built in the 70's and it a 70's hotel. The price is high but that is the pricing in the area is high. We had a reservation for a king bed but it appeared to be a queen at best. (it was a good bed though, very confortable. On the positive side you have great access 2 of the most beautiful cities on the California coast. (Monterrey and Carmel.). The advertised free breakfast was a bit over exaggerated. It was free but not much there. We went next door to Dennys and got our fill. One excellent thing was the pool and hot tub. Sparkling clean and it appeared redone in resent years. Don't be put off bye this review just don't over expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. Please allow me to respond to your comments. Here are the facts, the property was built in 1979 and yes our pool/spa area was renovated last year. Although this is the peak summer season, our rates are a good value based on what we provide the guest. The puffiness of the comforter causes an optical illusion and makes the bed appear smaller, however, you we sleeping on a comfortable King bed. Our complimentary breakfast includes two hot items (eggs and sausage links), cold cereals, juices, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, assorted breads and more. I believe some readers will be put off by your review due to the lackluster rating given, however, I value your honest opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff is helpful and attentive. Rooms are spacious and showers good . But you can't get a drinkable cup of coffee in the room or downstairs . Cold & weak is all that is served. This was my second stay here and the location is good so I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and 4 out of 5 rating. I appreciate your letting other readers know of your positive experience with the staff, room quality and location. I am sorry you did not enjoy our coffee. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife and baby. We drove to the aquarium and wharf, which was nice, but I'm not sure about the location for those without a car. Breakfast was nice with a good variety. Hotel was clean and looked good. Overall very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avishay789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property and we appreciate your mentioning our good value. A bus stop is just a few steps away for those travelers without a car. The "Jazz" line runs through Monterey and on to Cannery Row. You can stop downtown at the transfer center for other great route options. Your review gave me an opportunity to let others know about our close proximity to public transportation. Thank you for your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms were nice but the hotel was not in the best of areas. So much for sleep...VERY noisy hotel. Must have thin walls as we could hear toilets flushing all night, people walking above us, and cars starting up in the back parking lot (6 am). For the price we paid I would definitely stay somewhere else next time

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you get a room that does NOT face the back parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5TravlingMcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize for the noise issues experienced during your stay. July is one of the busiest months of the year, with many families enjoying summer vacation. I wish you had contacted the front desk or asked to speak with me regarding the noise. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I took my daughters to Monterey for a girls weekend. This hotel was comfortable, clean, well located and the staff was very nice. The breakfast was nice and maintained. Each morning we got directions from the front desk for our days adventure. This hotel is right on the main drag to Carmel, 17 mile drive and Canary Row/Aquarium.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and top rating. We were happy to know you enjoyed your stay and time in Monterey. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really smart hotel. Beautiful Decor. Location was OK, although I felt it was a little overpriced because of its distance from main area. Rooms were really nice, comfy and clean. We had a noisy family beside us on our first night which meant we didn't sleep so well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I wish you had contacted the front desk agent regarding the noise issue as we could have assisted you. Traveling during our peak summer season is less affordable, however, we offer a good value based upon rates at other properties closer to the center of town. Most guests appreciate the savings and don't mind the short drive. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing