We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Forget staying close to Cannery Row or the Aquarium and stay at the De Anza Inn! It's just a short drive to all the major sites and you can save a lot of $$$. The parking is free, the adequate breakfast is free, the WiFi is free, and our room was large, quiet, and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more--Well, maybe have more tables for eating breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edtherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and the five out of five rating. You mentioned many of our top amenities and also the great value we provide. Most guests appreciate being only 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to the Monterey Peninsula. Thanks again for your time and consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 803 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

The people who work here, from the front desk to the cleaning staff, are very friendly and accommodating. This made us so comfortable that we extended our stay! Hotel is not really within walking distance of downtown (about 2 miles). it is within biking distance. Nevertheless, with the great customer service and reasonable prices, this hotel is very much worth it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. Your enthusiasm about the service and experience you had during your stay was greatly appreciated. We are happy you chose to extend your stay and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Monterey. We are grateful you took the time to post your comments. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to pick this hotel because of the reviews, we didn't need luxury and had amenities we wanted. The way our gps took us in was a bit interesting but as soon as we spotted the hotel we were impressed. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Check in was quick and very friendly. We got a room on the 2nd floor right by the lobby but never once heard any noise. The room was very large with table and chairs.

After our last hotel my daughter was thrilled she could access Wi-Fi in the room! big plus! Also this hotel has direct TV with tons of channels to chose from.

It seems like it is outside Monterey but it is only 1 exit down and only took about 10 minutes to get into the area. There is a Safeway about a mile down and a Denny's right next door. Breakfast was a basic continental, fruit, instant oatmeal packets, 4 types of cereal, juice etc. Perfectly okay for what we needed.

The beds were very comfy and the only real complaint I could see was the water out of the tub faucet was very strong but as soon as we flipped to shower it was very weak. Plus got very hot when the toilet was flushed. Not a big deal. Just took longer in the shower to rinse my thick hair.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Very small hotel all rooms I am sure are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1cutemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your detailed comments and felt the review title, "Fantastic Budget Hotel" said it all. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Monterey. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a modern well appointed hotel in that hotel/commercial fringe zone of the town. Suitable for an overnight stop. The staff were extremely polite and efficient and the room was very comfortable, big and quiet. There is no dining in the hotel but a very good diner, the Monterey Cookhouse, close by saved the day. Otherwise the location is a cultural desert. The breakfast was a joke. THREE tables in a corner of the lobby and plastic and cardboard food. The eggs were probably cooked the day they opened and reheated every morning. If you value just quiet, sleep, clean, one night, it's quite OK.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the main road so side or back rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatsfieldPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. Most of our guests appreciate our convenient
proximity to local attractions and the value we offer not being in the center of town. I am sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. Unfortunately, we do not have a full kitchen and must microwave scrambled egg patties & sausage links fresh daily. We do appreciate your 4 out of 5 rating given the words used in your review title. Thanks again for your time and consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have stayed here many many times, great prices, clean, big rooms. Very friendly staff. Off the main tourist area, but, very easy to get around to all the popular spots in Monterey. We visit the area two or three times a year and will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: all non smoking rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cars1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review of our property. As you stated we are close to local
attractions and offer spacious, ultra clean rooms. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. Please mention your Trip Advisor post so that we may thank in person. Happy holidays & safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had an overnight stay in a 2 queen room. The hotel was older style but still clean with a reasonable amount of room. The room was very warm and we had to sleep with the overhead fan on all night. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was provided and it suited our needs. Cereal toast, pastries, sausages,fried eggs,juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your complimentary comments and were happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay. It appears you were in Monterey during our heat spell since you found your room was warm. Thanks again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A friend and I were traveling up the California coast. We'd decided to stop for the night in Monterey. We didn't have a reservation but found this lovely hotel. It has a beautiful lobby with a koi pond. The staff was wonderful and took good care of us. The gentleman at the desk recommended The Old Fisherman's Grotto for dinner and it was very good.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable. It is right across the street from the grounds were the Jazz Festival is held. We happened to be there during the festival and could hear the music through the window! The prices for the room during the festival go up but it was well worth the money to have such a nice place to stay.

The hotel is near several restaurants and an easy drive to the Montery attractions. The hotel has a nice breakfast with hot and cold foods. We enjoyed our stay here even though it was just one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of our property. Your detailed comments highlighted the best of what we have to offer guests. We appreciate your letting others know about your positive experience during your stay. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
313 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $105 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing