We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Disappointed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

We followed the reviews for this property and were not disappointed at all. For the money, this was quite a treat. The only real complaints we had were 1) no place to park temporarily when checking in (the hotel should designate a couple spaces out front for check-ins) and 2) we were on the second floor and could hear the people in the room above us pacing around the room. But do not get me wrong... we would still stay in this hotel again. One other thing... the hotel gives out breakfast coupons to the Denny's Restaurant next door. It seemed as if every motel/hotel visitor in Monterey was there. We drove north on Fremont a little ways looking for another breakfast restaurant and found the Nifty-50's Restaurant just around the east corner of Fremont and Echo Ave in Seaside. A nice uncrowded local establishment where five of us were seated right away. Service was excellent!

  • Liked — Great value for the quality
  • Disliked — Easy to hear pacing of guests in room above
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    305
    99
    27
    5
See reviews for
308
257
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

This motel is rated number one in the Monterey Area, mostly due to its price. We selected it because of the rating provided by other reviewers. In general, it lived up to its rating, but not having stayed at higher price facilities, it's difficult to compare. The room was large, clean, and quiet. The price was $89 for two queen beds. The continental breakfast was forgetable with little variety. The pastries were dry (day old?). We would stay there again on a future trip to Monterey.

  • Liked — Clean and inexpensive
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GettingAway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

After staying here I can't understand how it's rated number 1. While the property is well maintained and the room was adequate, the bathroom had a smell of mildew and it wafted into the rest of the room, which was unpleasant. The refrigerator in the room kept making a ticking sound all night long...it took us a while to figure out the noise was coming from the fridge and once we did we unplugged it and that took care of that noise. But the walls and the ceiling/floor are so thin that we could here the people upstairs walking/running in their room, we could hear the people talking in the room next door and everytime the people upstairs or next door flushed their toilet we could hear it...it made it very hard to get a good night's rest. We won't be staying at this place again and will not be recommending this motel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank izsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

My family stayed at the best Western De Anza Inn for the weekend of 2/23/08. We found the hotel was clean, and enjoyed the property being a non-smoking hotel. Other than that there was nothing really great or outstanding about this hotel. Upon check out we had to carry all our luggage down the stairs due to the elevator not working. We also never received a receipt for our stay. The elevator and computers were down due to a loss of electric that affected only half of the hotel -- while the other half still had electric. We appreciated the fact this hotel was clean and non-smoking, but couldn't understand why it's ranked #1 on Trip Advisor?

  • Liked — It was very clean!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AprilC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

Hotel is located in very convenient area that is close to a couple of small shopping malls, several gas stations, and restaurants. Denny's is next door. Area is quiet though on a main road. Easy access onto freeway to get to downtown Monterey or Carmel in 5-10 mins. The room (2 queen beds) was spacious and very clean with a comfortable size bathroom. Shower pressure and temperature were strong and hot (if desired). Amenities were very basic, shampoo and soap, NO shower cap (even from front desk). Self-serve continental bkfast by front desk was quite adequate to get started in the morning: coffee/tea, hot chocolate, fruits, oatmeal, pastries. Refrig was cold and coffee maker (indiv coffee provided) in room were handy to use. Beds were comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and would come back again when in the Monterey area again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spacious room, and convenient location
  • Disliked — No shower cap
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AznArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

I would have never considered this hotel without this site. I have not stayed in a BW in over 20 years and was very pleasantly surprised.

Nothing really to look at from the outside. Lobby with high ceiling and some bored koi. 1 lift. Gave us $3.00 Denny’s coupons for breaky next door (manager let us combine them as opposed to separate cheques like they say). Only time I have ever been asked for my AAA card on an AAA rate. Parking was adequate. Need your key to get the lift to work from the lower parking area. Pool was there but the weather was too cold to consider it, not sure if it was even open during the winter.

Stayed in a king on the 3rd floor. Very large clean room with high ceilings. Comfortable bed. Single cup coffee maker (not pleased that this was in the bathroom so I did not use it). Good water pressure. Shampoo and soap. Mini fridge and microwave. Free wireless worked (some times slow).

Easy drive to town. Long’s drugs across the street. Avoid the Carrow’s by the Aquarium – not the cleanest and the food was marginal. Allow at least 2.75 hours to drive to Hearst Castle on the 1 with a minimum number of stops and slow downs for construction. I know Mapquest will tell you a little under 2 hours. We missed our tour by about 10 minutes and let us take the next was as there was room but don’t count on this at peak season. You are going to want to stop along the way and there are elephant seals north of the Castle. Also saw the Zebra’s to the south of the Castle.

This hotel is very good value for the money and we will return. Thanks again for helping us find it!

  • Liked — big rooms
  • Disliked — coffee maker in bathroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bo94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Yes it is as good as everyone says, stayed one night but would have liked to have stayed longer, spotlessly clean and ample parking , all very good and at the price dont miss this one you wont regret staying there. many restaurants near by.

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Disliked — liked to have stayed longer
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curatokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing