We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 2-nights here and got a beautiful, spacious room for a very pleasant price. It was lovely having space to move around in the the room without having to stumble over the bed or a suitcase. As a non-smoking hotel, having to take the elevator to the parking level for a smoke was a bit of a pain, but not a deal breaker. Although the elevator was right next to our room, it was slow and there was no stair access directly to the lobby. The continental breakfast was very good, but there was a very limited seating area and little counter space for standing while eating.

On another point, we stopped here with no advance reservation and were impressed with the professionalism of the staff. Upon checking in, while chatting with Jamie, the reservations clerk about our trip up Hwy 1 (delayed by a less than courteous slow driver), a stranger insisted on interrupting our private conversation and began speaking aggressively to us directly. Jamie realized the situation needed to be handled quickly, and asked the other "guest" to step away so she could assist us with our check-in. She didn't want to ask for any of our personal information while this other guest was hovering (looking for a fight?) and was able to diffuse the situation quickly, professionally and with a minimum of fuss. We spoke to Jamie several times during our stay and she was always professional, courteous, helpful and very friendly. She is an excellent employee and exemplifies the level of professionalism that Best Western demands from its employees.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear parking area were quiet, king suites were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_P_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for recent review and 4 out of 5 rating for our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post such a detailed account of your stay. We pride ourselves on the professionalism of the staff. Your experience was a great example of our employees concern for guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 838 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good room, large and very clean.Friendly staff and a decent breakfast with sausages, various breads cereals etc. A couple of miles away from fishermans wharf etc, but easy to get to by car. We would stay here again if passing through.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodsy1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our property.Your concise and complimentary comments were appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spacious room however walls were thin and there was a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms. Breakfast was included and choice was reasonable. There were only a few tables to sit at and too many guests for the number of tables. The rooms were clean enough but had a dated feel to them. The lift was painfully slow and I'm sure there were stairs but no-one told us where to find them so everyone was using the lifts. The location is on the outskirts of monterey and not really much close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. Although we are located in north Monterey, we are just a few minutes away from the historic downtown and 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
We have stairs located on both sides of the building. I wish you had inquired about them as we have a front desk agent on staff 24 hours to assist guests. Thanks again for taking the time to submit your comments and remarking about our reasonable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Got a 1-King room; spacious, fairly quiet, plumbing noise from adjacent rooms a little noisy in the mornings.

Breakfast better than average; muffin-sized scrambled egg patties, good sausages, usual breakfast breads.

Coffee, tea, hot cocoa, apples, oranges, available all day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccmorrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. Your review title said it all, we are a good value.
I also appreciate your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast since this is an important issue for many guests. We may have limited space but provide fresh, high quality items continually restocked by our lobby attendant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. 2 adults, 2 kids. We had a king size with the pullout sofa for our kids. The hotel was nice and clean. Workers were courteous. Breakfast is the typical basic free breakfast being offered these days. There didn't seem to be alot of good places to eat near the hotel, and the street does look kind of sketchy. We found this gem down the road called Baan Thai! Amazing Thai food, you must check it out. We had a good time and this was close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery which was the main reason we chose it and the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfamAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. There are several good restaurants in close proximity to us. I wish you had asked about dining recommendations at the front desk during your stay. We have a list of local restaurants offering a wide range of choices and price ranges that we give to guests upon request. Thanks again for taking the time to post your opinion. We sincerely appreciate your consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was the first of three Best Western hotels we stayed in during our honeymoon. It lacked character but what would you expect from a chain? I think also we were spoiled from our previous stop in the Napa River Inn which would take a lot to beat. Character aside, it was clean and well maintained and the staff were very polite and helpful with any requests.
The room was fairly spacious with a large comfortable bed. Didn’t have air conditioning though, just a ceiling fan so the room was liable to get a bit too warm making sleeping a little uncomfortable. I was a little surprised at this, the previous two hotels on the trip had a/c, the hotel in Napa was more upmarket so understandable but the first hotel was a cheaper Comfort Inn, Best Western are somewhere in the middle of these two so thought it would be a given, especially as this was a Best Western Plus, supposedly one of their premium brands.
Location wise, the hotel was on a main road so had easy access. It was surrounded by similar hotels, supermarkets and eateries. Its not a great distance to the main attractions in Monterey either. On the day we arrived, we walked into town, took about 50 minutes to reach Fisherman’s Wharf, another 15 minutes or so to Cannery Row. The following day, we drove in and parked at one of the big harbour pay-and-displays, cost $10 for all day parking.
Generally, a good hotel for anyone wanting to see the sights in Monterey. I think it was preferable to paying the silly premium for a similar room in one of the hotels in the Cannery Row area. I would stay there again if we were ever in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your pointing out our close proximity to local attractions and the positive experience you had while staying with us. We were happy to know you would choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family of four stayed here a week ago on a Wednesday night. We should of stayed another couple nights. Front desk people were professional, gave us good price $120.00 for a large room with 2 queen beds. Perfect size with space for family of four, nice amenities, decent breakfast included, within walking distance about 15 min. to downtown Monterey. Room and beds were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeFourFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your honest and
complimentary comments. We hope you will consider another stay on your next visit to Monterey. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $91 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing