We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good room, large and very clean.Friendly staff and a decent breakfast with sausages, various breads cereals etc. A couple of miles away from fishermans wharf etc, but easy to get to by car. We would stay here again if passing through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodsy1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation of our property.Your concise and complimentary comments were appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    327
    105
    27
    6
See reviews for
328
272
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spacious room however walls were thin and there was a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms. Breakfast was included and choice was reasonable. There were only a few tables to sit at and too many guests for the number of tables. The rooms were clean enough but had a dated feel to them. The lift was painfully slow and I'm sure there were stairs but no-one told us where to find them so everyone was using the lifts. The location is on the outskirts of monterey and not really much close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. Although we are located in north Monterey, we are just a few minutes away from the historic downtown and 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
We have stairs located on both sides of the building. I wish you had inquired about them as we have a front desk agent on staff 24 hours to assist guests. Thanks again for taking the time to submit your comments and remarking about our reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Got a 1-King room; spacious, fairly quiet, plumbing noise from adjacent rooms a little noisy in the mornings.

Breakfast better than average; muffin-sized scrambled egg patties, good sausages, usual breakfast breads.

Coffee, tea, hot cocoa, apples, oranges, available all day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmorrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Your review title said it all, we are a good value.
I also appreciate your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast since this is an important issue for many guests. We may have limited space but provide fresh, high quality items continually restocked by our lobby attendant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. 2 adults, 2 kids. We had a king size with the pullout sofa for our kids. The hotel was nice and clean. Workers were courteous. Breakfast is the typical basic free breakfast being offered these days. There didn't seem to be alot of good places to eat near the hotel, and the street does look kind of sketchy. We found this gem down the road called Baan Thai! Amazing Thai food, you must check it out. We had a good time and this was close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery which was the main reason we chose it and the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfamAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. There are several good restaurants in close proximity to us. I wish you had asked about dining recommendations at the front desk during your stay. We have a list of local restaurants offering a wide range of choices and price ranges that we give to guests upon request. Thanks again for taking the time to post your opinion. We sincerely appreciate your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was the first of three Best Western hotels we stayed in during our honeymoon. It lacked character but what would you expect from a chain? I think also we were spoiled from our previous stop in the Napa River Inn which would take a lot to beat. Character aside, it was clean and well maintained and the staff were very polite and helpful with any requests.
The room was fairly spacious with a large comfortable bed. Didn’t have air conditioning though, just a ceiling fan so the room was liable to get a bit too warm making sleeping a little uncomfortable. I was a little surprised at this, the previous two hotels on the trip had a/c, the hotel in Napa was more upmarket so understandable but the first hotel was a cheaper Comfort Inn, Best Western are somewhere in the middle of these two so thought it would be a given, especially as this was a Best Western Plus, supposedly one of their premium brands.
Location wise, the hotel was on a main road so had easy access. It was surrounded by similar hotels, supermarkets and eateries. Its not a great distance to the main attractions in Monterey either. On the day we arrived, we walked into town, took about 50 minutes to reach Fisherman’s Wharf, another 15 minutes or so to Cannery Row. The following day, we drove in and parked at one of the big harbour pay-and-displays, cost $10 for all day parking.
Generally, a good hotel for anyone wanting to see the sights in Monterey. I think it was preferable to paying the silly premium for a similar room in one of the hotels in the Cannery Row area. I would stay there again if we were ever in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your pointing out our close proximity to local attractions and the positive experience you had while staying with us. We were happy to know you would choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family of four stayed here a week ago on a Wednesday night. We should of stayed another couple nights. Front desk people were professional, gave us good price $120.00 for a large room with 2 queen beds. Perfect size with space for family of four, nice amenities, decent breakfast included, within walking distance about 15 min. to downtown Monterey. Room and beds were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeFourFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your honest and
complimentary comments. We hope you will consider another stay on your next visit to Monterey. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

our stay there was very pleasant.the large room was spotlessly clean, bed was one of the more comfortable of any hotel we've ever stayed in.complimentary continental breakfast was very good,with a wide selection to choose from.entire staff made us feel at home & were extremely helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Please accept my sincere thanks for your favorable review of our property. We take pride in the cleanliness and quality of our rooms. As you stated, we are an excellent value and provide a high level of customer service. We strive to make each of our guest feel welcome and appreciated during their stay. Thanks for letting others know about you positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing