We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going through some Changes” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Going through some Changes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

On April 30th I checked into the Bay Park, intending to stay four nights. After two nights without much rest, I checked out and moved to a superior property. I cannot reccomend the Bay Park until such time that their rennovations are complete and they up their level of cleanliness and security. I did not feel safe there and there was an attempt to break into my rental car on Wedsnesday night, which was reported to the police.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caliber35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    78
    64
    39
    27
See reviews for
90
76
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did a trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles and the one nights accommodation was at this hotel. It was quite spacious. Breakfast was not included but we purchased it the next morning at a good price. Staff were polite and we went to Cannery Row for the evening to have tea and look around. Beware of some of the cab drivers, the one taking us back to the hotel after cannery row cost half as much more than the driver that took us there. Nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Take a room on the ground floor, did not see elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear So-happy-to-travel,

Thank you for reviewing your experiences with us on your recent stay at Bay Park Hotel. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you found our amenities and the friendliness of our staff to be of real benefit for your travels. We are very thankful you shared this with us and with others. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for the last 15 years. Was pleasantly greeted knew what we needed and liked....this was before.....this time greeting was labored, no accomodatioins for our pet. Room and towels were not up to standard.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bay Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. We're sorry you did not find our services and amenities to your liking. Please feel free to return and allow us to improve upon your experience. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again in Monterey.

Best Regards,

Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I chose the Bay Park Hotel on Expedia. I wanted to have access to a Hot Tub, a pool, and a workout room. I had also asked for a quiet room. My friend and me were very disappointed. I paid for both rooms, it was very noisy, they were under construction, the Spa wasn't working and the pool was full of debris. Expedia should have let me know that the hotel was under construction and that the facilities were not what I thought I was paying for. It was very difficult to get the hot water and the tv was confusing to use.

Room Tip: Wait until they are finished with the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singletraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Singletraveler67 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bay Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. We're sorry you did not find our rooms and amenities to your liking. Our heated outdoor pool is seasonal and not open during winter. We however, do have a workout room on our 1st floor. I am sorry you were never informed of this. Please feel free to return and allow us to improve upon your experience. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again in Monterey.


Thank you,
Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having stayed at Bay Park Hotel in Monterey CA, for the last 3 to 4 years; we were very disappointed to find that the hotel has gone so far down hill. The hotel is under renovation and construction work can be seen. The problem this time was that when we checked in and was assigned a room; the room was full of construction material. After going back to the check in desk and being assigned another room, we found the room to be extremely worn looking. The hotel definitely needs to be renovated. Being told that the renovations will take a year; if we return, it will be after a year has passed & after first inspecting the rooms before hand. We will be looking for another hotel in Monterey to stay at in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than expected. Our renovations should be completed by the end of this year . I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Kindly,

Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business conference this month and found the accommodations to be very average. The room I was in was clean overall however the carpet was old and the furnishings rather tattered and "used". The bed was fine but the pillows were very small and cheap. The hotel appears to be undergoing some renovations; the restaurant was closed down. Our meeting room was either too warm or too cold. This property has the potential to be a great hotel but the owners are going to need to invest some capital to modernize it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Calguysactown,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bay Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. We're sorry you did not find the rooms to your liking. We are in the process of renovating so, please feel free to return and allow us to improve upon your experience. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again in Monterey.


Thank you,
Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was booked through work and pre-paid. Don't make the mistake of staying here. It's old and dirty. The morning breakfast is cheap, but thats about it. Staff is nice, but they know they are working with a dump and often apologize for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zak s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#41 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing