We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is a fun place to stay. It's small and comfortabel. Everyone is really friendly and always helpful. The romms are equiped with great amenites like refrige, micro, and wireless internet. Breakfast is especially fun since it's possible to chat with all the other interesting guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateward850166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    246
    140
    34
    14
See reviews for
240
229
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was a horrible situation. Priceline gave me only 4 dollars off the hotel stay when we requested. Double beds they had available but refused to give us them Harsh the best western worker was unprofessional and occupied with the other employees.
DO NOIT go here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awtozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjuSantaCruz, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Please accept our sincere apology for not exceeding your expectation.we will defiantly look in to your concern with our front desk staff. unfortunately you had your reservation with one bed,according to your reservation we had one bed room reserved for you.because of the summer vacation we were sold out with two bed and we were not accommodate you with two bed.I would suggest in a future when you make your reservation with third party,Please conform your reservation with hotel in advance,so we can better accommodate you.Thank you Sanjay Patel,G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Bank
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed here for one night in mid May. This facility is somewhat dated and in need of updates, new and brighter decor as it is rather dreary. The room was clean, not spotless but clean. . The room was comfortable with a separate sink from the bathroom and a half wall divider from sleep area and bathroom /sink area. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. The garbage redeptacles in the parking area were overflowing and in need of attention. There was a prevalant and unpleasant odour in the area, and no idea of the cause, but I suspect it was more environmental than the motel itself.

I suspect there are nicer places but for the price, it was OK

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ametsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a motel with a location a little away from the main Monterey amenities.
The room was clean though rather small. The bathroom had a great power shower.
Standard continental breakfast with an indoor and outdoor seating area. Rather than the ubiquitous bananas and red apples, it would be nice if local produce was offered especially as we passed many farmers stands near there.
There is a mall within walking distance with several restaurants offering a variety of cuisines.
My only complaint about this hotel was the over use of air freshner both in the lobby and the bedroom.
Standard BW hotel, nothing fancy or special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

My family and I stayed here overnight on a road trip from San Francisco to LA. We booked it because they have two-bedroom suites (one queen, two twins, shared bathroom) and an easy online booking process. The room was good for an overnight stay with teenagers, the staff were friendly, and the free breakfast adequate to set us on the road again. Overall we were quite satisfied.

Beyond that, this place is nothing special. For example, the room heater rattled when it reached temperature, so that we had to switch it off when we went to sleep. The bathroom door was reluctant to close, and the carpets were pretty thin in places. It came with a microwave and fridge, but the table has only two chairs so we took our car for the 2 min. drive into town to eat out. There are restaurants closer though.

Overall, I'd recommend the hotel for an overnight or short stay by a family looking for a bit of space. But if you're looking for a character or quality then there are other places, even in the Best Western chain, that do better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Went on a cross country trip ohio to cali and back. This was the most memerabile and coolest hotel we stayed at. Rooms were HUGE and the beach is litterly a 4 min walk away.

Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeremyK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed here a few years ago when kids were younger. Chose it this time for three nights (average about $100 per night) thinking it would be ok and was about $40 per night less than the BW Monterey Inn further down the street where we have previously stayed. The desk staff was ok upon check in - our reservation was in order. However, the room (on the second floor with twin beds near the pool area) was outdated and the mattresses were horrible - lumpy and sinking in the middle. Also, the walls were paper thin as we could hear our neighbors on both sides speaking at normal levels, TV's, dresser and night stand drawers opening and closing etc. Reminded me of a cheaper hotel chain that "leaves the lights on for you." Upon arrival, our bathroom overhead light did not work, as well as the bathroom area electrical outlets. I mentioned this to the woman at the front desk the next morning, but was still not corrected when we returned later that afternoon. At that time, the gentleman in the office promptly reset the circuit breaker; the outlets worked but the bath light was still out - "probably a burned out bulb" which never was replaced during the remaining two days of our visit. We just relied upon the timed heat lamp and the natural light through the window.

As others have posted, not really within walking distance of any attractions or restuarants, so had to drive everywhere. Also, be careful around holidays - Sat night was Halloween and lots of activity, car doors slamming, taxi cabs coming and going, etc. Noise/sound really carries at this property, and you will notice the road noise, sirens etc. both day and night.

Lastly, why is this property listed in the B&B/Inns classification. This is not a B&B or an Inn - it is strictly a low-budget hotel that charges high prices.

If I were associated with Best Western, I would drop this property from its offerings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Crest Inn

Property: Best Western Park Crest Inn
Address: 1100 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Park Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Park Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Park Crest Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing