We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salvador
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not a memorable stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel. Our rooms had windows overlooking a corridor on ground floor, not very comfortable for privacy. Breakfast area is very small and completely not adapted to the number of guests. Quite expensive finally for the global quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
we apologize for inconvenience. we will try to improve in the area which you had uncomfortable expreince.we try our best to accommodate each and every guest at our hotel. we might have overlooked certain things while you were our guest but we will make sure it won't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    245
    138
    33
    14
See reviews for
235
226
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice, well maintained Best Western in Monterey. My fiance and I had just gotten engaged before our trip to California and this is one of the places we stayed while there. They treated us great, and even hand-made a sign congratulating us on our engagement.

It's walkable to popular places like the Wharf, but we chose to drive so we could check out other places around town. It's also close to Carmel/17 mile drive, which were fantastic.

They just installed new carpeting in all the rooms and everything was clean and tidy. The price was fine, especially for Moneterey. If you are going to this part of California to stay in a hotel all day and night, you are missing the point! All-in-all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcgriffin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Congratulation. we are glad that we were able to accommodate you on your engagement trip. we hope that we will be see you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The good news is that it is a Best Western, meaning it has a certain standard. Also it is still possible to walk to downtown Monterey in 20 minutes. The hotel rooms could need some updating. We found the price paid 25% too high and realized that they only charge that much because they are located in Monterey. Would I return? Not to this one - there is another Best Western just a couple of blocks down Munras which I can definitely recommend. Way better bang for your bucks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
we apologize for not meeting your expectation. we will take your recommendations seriously and try to improve on that area. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

we checked in on 05/05/12.this place was a nightmare. we wanted to stay there for three nights and luckily just booked one night first, so that we can go there and make our decision. The rooms were musty and there were big black stains on the carpets. Also you could hear every car passing by. The walls are paper thin. We saw a rate of 116.49 on their own website and called the hotel to see if they would offer some better rate but the person on the desk told us that he see higher rates in his system but he would match this rate from their website. Since it was too late we gave him our credit card instead of booking it online. Upon our arrival he charged us $129 and told us he does not see $116.49 charge. When we reported this issue next morning to another person at desk she old us that she is a manager and refused to help us. We checked out right away and will never come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: pay few more dollars and stay at a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hello Ali!
We apologize for inconvenience. I looked up your account and found that you were only got charge $116.99 plus tax which makes total of $129.00.we did gave you the same rate which we originally quoted. I hope this will clarify the misunderstanding that you had about the rates. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will give us another chance when you visit Monterey.
Sincerely,
Sanjay Patel
G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is our second trip to this hotel. The front desk staff are terrific.

Good price for a clean, nice room close to everything in Monterey!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hello Ann!
We are very delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our establishment. Our staff is committed to make each and every guest stay comfortable. Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We hope to see you in near future.
Sincerely,
Sanjay Patel
G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Esmeralda Frausto the manager was wonderful,very friendly and helpful.Easy acess to waterfront area,very adequate breakfast.Room was more than adequate for one night stay.Excellent price on walk-in. Dale,Canada

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hello Dale!!
Thank you for taking time to review our establishment. We are happy to hear that you had great experience while you were visiting Monterey. Our staff at Best Western Park crest Inn is committed to make each and every guest stay relaxing and comfortable.Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Sanjay Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at this facility for 3 days / 2 nights, 3/27/2012 - 3/29/2012. The location was excellent and the staff were absolutely wonderful. Sure, the facility may be older but it was comfortable. The free breakfast was quite good, included waffles (you make it fresh), hard boiled eggs, various danishes, coffee, OJ, apple juice, bagels, toasts..etc. In short, we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room 141 is pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello James,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our establishment. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions. This will assist us when evaluating our guest’s needs and expectations.It's great to hear that you will be back.we are looking forward to see you agin in near fututre to provide outstanding service.
Sincerely,
Sanjay Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Crest Inn

Property: Best Western Park Crest Inn
Address: 1100 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Park Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Park Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Park Crest Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing