We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to get engaged...we'll be back for an anniversary!”
Review of Old Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Monterey Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Old Monterey Inn was great. Considering the hundreds of great reviews this place has already recieved, I'll keep it short. This was the first bed and breakfast my girlfriend (now fiance) and I had been to. Very romantic, quiet, relaxing, and not far from all the things to do in Monterey. Not generic at all. Very much an old English style mansion with great landscaping. They accommodated my plans to get engaged and even upgraded us to the garden suite (highly recommended) for one of the nights. The breakfasts were unbelievable. Loved it...just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4guitarman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 555 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

On arrival my husband and i were treated to a free upgrade in room since the Inn was not at full capacity. That was an unexpected treat and set the tone for continued royal treatment. We loved the quiet garden setting, the great food, and the picnic bag that was prepared for us so we could go on a day long hike at the local state park. Everyone was very helpful and genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentfllyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

How do you try to explain perfection? My husband and I went to Old Monterey Inn for our 24th wedding anniversary… I didn’t tell my husband where we were staying… and when we arrived at the Inn…. It was like stepping back in time….Greeted with a smile…offered something to drink and freshly made cookies…. Shown around the grounds… and was taken directly to our room… it was like a old friend…warm… inviting…. Beautiful room full of wonderful fabrics… antique furniture and an over stuffed loveseat by the fireplace… nestled in the corner was a free standing tub….the windows were open…with a wonderful breeze flowing through the room… In the mornings we could here the seal… and the birds outside our window…. You are so close to everything…yet secluded and nestled on a beautiful estate with gardens… It took us 5 minutes to be in the heart of Carmel… and 5 minutes to be at the coast in Monterey….Our first morning breakfast was served on the patio….and was to die for! Very hardy… you can skip lunch! We were greeted after a hard day of shopping with wonderful wine and appetizers from 4-6PM… highly recommends this wonderful Inn….
I can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzpdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The Old Monterey Inn is a perfect bed and breakfast. The setting is serene, relaxing and calming. Our stay was enhanced by the wonderful service, the friendly, attentive staff and the beautiful, private cottage room. Breakfast in the dining room, outside in the garden or in your room was delicious. All day access to coffee, tea, hot chocolate, soda, juice, yogurt was greatly appreciated. Thank you Patti. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Early this year my sister and I were traveling to the Bay area for a sad occasion - a memorial for our father. On the way up we took a 2-day sidestep in our journey with the hopes of relaxing and winding down from a very stressful past 2 months. A friend of mine was gracious and generous enough to book a room for us here at The Old Monterey Inn, as well as some massages.
It couldn't have been any more perfect. The property itself is just breathtakingly beautiful. The gardens offer a sense of tranquility and there are whimsical statues placed throughout the grounds. The room we stayed in was comfortable and cozy and wasn't missing a thing. There's a community refrigerator that's thoughtfully stocked with baggies of ice and you can get coffee or tea downstairs. On our first night there we took a walk around the neighborhood which is residential, and then we walked to town for a bite to eat. It was bitingly cold, and upon our return found the perfect remedy in the fireplace and very comfortable bed which had the softest sheets (very high thread count)!Breakfast is included in the room rate and you can either have it served to you in your room or go downstairs to thebeautiful dining area and meet some of the other guests over a scrumptious meal prepared by Patti herself. The staff here make you feel welcome and cater to your needs without seeming intrusive. Patti made us a last minute reservation at The Sardine Factory - she is there to assist. Our massages took place simultaneously (like a couples' massage) in a charming room somewhere behind the main house. It had a fireplace and was very comfortable, and our massage therapists were wonderful.
All in all it was the perfect break for us and although i was there with my sister, I can see how it would be the ideal place for a romantic getaway with your significant other.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avalon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Although we could only stay four nights, I felt totally refreshed and renewed from our mini vacation. The Tudor style inn is full of fantastic antiques and the decor of each room was different but all were wonderful. We went to the dining room for breakfast each morning where the delicious food was gracefully served next to a lit fireplace. We met nice people also staying at the inn. Everyone on staff was pleasant and helpful with our itinerary. We were walking distance to many attractions. The gardens were nice and I saw a deer one morning. Our daughter and son-in-law also went here for their honeymoon two years ago and loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossLafayette_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed only for one night, however it felt like home, so warm and cozy. Admirable costumer service, they all treat you as if you were part of the family. It was simply amazing!! We are surely looking forward to do it again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McVays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monterey Inn

Address: 500 Martin St, Monterey, CA 93940-4491
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: $190 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Monterey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the most romantic bed and breakfast in Monterey, CA. Our Monterey B&B features luxurious rooms and suites with comfy beds, fireplaces and spa tubs. Enjoy a delicious gourmet vegetarian breakfast or stroll the breathtaking gardens of our Monterey luxury inn. A peaceful and secluded atmosphere only minutes to everything in downtown Monterey. Experience what true luxury and comfort can be at our unforgettable Monterey bed and breakfast, a Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Monterey Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing