We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!”
Review of Old Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Monterey Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Time!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a very pleasant stay! Extremely quiet and very relaxing. They automatically make you feel like you're at home by them giving you the key to come in and out of the B&B. The staff are kind and friendly. A little pricey but for the hospitality and the rooms, it is totally worth every penny! Definitely staying again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hufxgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    37
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
369
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

You will have absolutely no excuse(s) for not relaxing at the Old Monterey Inn! If you can't relax here, there is no hope! Wonderful hosts, food, rooms, staff, service and property! Katy and Lawrence (owners) are so enthusiastic and proud of what their inn offers. They should be! All B&B owners should take lessons for them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me2ca03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Old Monterey Inn is EXACTLY what you want a Bed & Breakfast to be. Katy and Lawrence have not left one detail untouched. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms tastefully appointed and your every need has already been thought of. And to top it off, breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented. We were greeted by a pianist filling the parlor room with beautiful music and afternoon snacks. Everett helped us get settled in. Once we crawled into bed, we got another pleasant surprise...the sheets, pillow cases and toppers are the highest quality that you will find anywhere and unbelievably comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a gorgeous property. We stayed in November, travelling with friends and mother in law. The rooms were amazing, just as we had expected from the website. The hosts were friendly and informative, and we really enjoyed breakfast with the other guests. The grounds are beautiful and the misty rain made it even more romantic. We travelled from Australia and would definitely stay again. Thank you Katy and team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A fairy tale getaway...every corner of the inn has something special. Gorgeous grounds, private patios, beautifully decorated rooms, gourmet breakfasts, wine and cheese with music in the afternoons, chocolates as you leave. I stayed in The Library, spending delightful hours reading in front of the fire. Katy and the staff did everything to ensure guests were comfortable and happy. A five star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieUMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent two nights at this lovely inn and it met or exceeded our expectations. We had a room with a fireplace and jacuzzi-style tub. The first morning we had breakfast in bed and the second morning we joined other guests in the beautiful dining room. Both breakfasts were delicious.

Our hostess Katy and her staff were charming. Saturday afternoon we spent a little time in the living room where we enjoyed wine and cheese. There was a piano player entertaining us as well.

Don't forget to wander outside - the gardens are lovely.

We then headed off to our romantic bonfire at Carmel Beach. Katy will set it all up for you, complete with blanket, picnic basket with goodies and everything for smores including the sticks!

One of the nice features is that this 1929 property is in excellent condition yet hasn't been "modernized" as many places often are - so it is still quite quaint! I can't wait to go again next year :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across the globe and found Old Monterey Inn at the top of the list - beautiful grounds, lovely room, elegant and comfortable home with lots of special touches - piano player during the wine and appetizer hours, coffee and cookies available, breakfast could be brought to your room or you could go to the dining room, chocolates as a thank you gift as we left - we will look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monterey Inn

Property: Old Monterey Inn
Address: 500 Martin St, Monterey, CA 93940-4491
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Monterey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the most romantic bed and breakfast in Monterey, CA. Our Monterey B&B features luxurious rooms and suites with comfy beds, fireplaces and spa tubs. Enjoy a delicious gourmet breakfast or stroll the breathtaking gardens of our Monterey luxury inn. A peaceful and secluded atmosphere only minutes to everything in downtown Monterey. Experience what true luxury and comfort can be at our unforgettable Monterey bed and breakfast, a Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Monterey Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing