We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic with a great view!”
Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Drake Avenue
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very romantic with a great view!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is the place to go for a romantic dinner with a beautiful view of the bay. The fruit is always outstanding and I recommend one of the specials of the day. They are always great. The salad bar is diverse and you get chilled plates. We fill up on the fruits for dessert. Come just before sunset or you can see the bay in the daylight and by night. It's beautiful either way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SFbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    220
    78
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
333 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This Charthouse has a nice view and good location on the "strip" of hotels and other establishments on the water in Monterey. It is one of the very few places that offers "real" (vs. touristy fried factory) food (the others being the restaurants in the Intercontinental and Monterey Plaza). All 3 are the only choices I'd recommend there. The lounge area is much smaller, with much more limited seating, than in other Charthouses, and the happy hour menu and hours is more limited than in other Charthouses as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had an excellent meal here recently - the quality of the food was superb, the staff very attentive, great service and a really nice overall experience.
It is also just around the corner from the Monterey Hotel & Spa hotel where we staying.
Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 489Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Watch the Happy Hour ad”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We saw they had happy hour so stopped in. We had been here for dinner a couple of years ago and it was excellent then so thought we would try again. This time we only wanted happy hour. After looking at their "menu" we ordered our drinks and some appetizers. All were very good except when we got the check, our drinks were NOT happy hour drinks, so we paid full price. It was a shock. So be sure to read the menu carefully! However everything was good and we will com back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
349 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Chart House at the Top of our Chart”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were hosting a dinner for some East Coast friends and were given a window table with a view of Monterey Bay as requested. Unfortunately, these tables are on a first come, first served basis and cannot be guaranteed. We had a delightful evening with good service and excellent food. We had the sea bass, autumn scallops, mixed seafood grill and macadamian encrusted fish. We have the Landry Card which gives priority seating and our names were printed on our menus for our party. It was a special night for all of us. It will be a place for us to visit again in Monterey.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing