We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to snuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House

Chart House
444 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1433
831-372-3362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 290 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Drake Avenue
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Up to snuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another fine Charthouse restaurant. The chain's standard is reliably excellent. The chopped spinach salad was uniquely good and the crab cake was a baseball of deliciously spiced crab with no distractions. Six diners, all very happy with their meals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    191
    64
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Go there and sit in the window for a really great view. Service a little pushy. Food mediocre. I had scallops which were good but spoiled being served with tough beans. My husband, the sea bass served with a mixed salad on the same plate, which seemed a strange combination in a fine dining restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We celebrated our 34th anniversary at the Chart House. The staff went above and beyond making our special day even more special. It was a sweet surprise to see the top of our menu reading Happy 34th Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. ********.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fifiMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love this place. Great view and wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We are very happy everytime we come eat here. Service very good. Very attentive and the food is the best!
Great view of the bay! Theyake you feel special when you visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dargar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Victorian Inn in Monterey where MIchele recommended the Chart House for dinner. She told them it was for a special mother/daughter outing and they got us seated immediately, 5:45, even though they originally had told her they couldn't seat anyone until 9:00. We were treated royally - beautiful roses on our table, great view of the bay. Our dinner was incredible - macadamia nut encrusted mahi that was a delightful taste treat. They even treated us to a free molten lava dessert. Memorable food and experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarajan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing