We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food”

Ambrosia India Bistro
Ranked #47 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good food, reasonable prices.. We have been there twice. The atmosphere is very pleasant. You can sit outside or inside while having your food. Its very calm and shaded with very light Indian music and chants in the background. Really soothing atmosphere !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    77
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Flavorful”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dined October 24, 2012. Lunch buffet, plenty of delicious choices all for a reasonable fixed price, including some items not on the regular menu. A very good value, buffet includes naan bread. Had chai for drink, it was okay but not my favorite, should've just had plain ice tea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nooner59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ambrosia, indeed!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I couldn't find this restaurant (ANY Indian food, for that matter) in the glossy Monterey hotel guide that we obtained somewhere there. Fortunately I found them in the phone book. Perhaps they should consider advertising there!
Their chana dish had a mixture of spices and ginger that I hadn't previously had, and I've had many chana dishes. The coconut fish curry was perfect. Plus, they offered brown, seasoned basmati rice for only 50 cents more.
The ambiance was more in line with a more expensive restaurant: courtyard fountain, cloth napkins, white paper on the tables.
Service was great.
The only thing I'd try to avoid is sitting by the kitchen entrance. The crew was very boisterous. At least they were enjoying working there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
828 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,325 helpful votes
“Good Chai”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped here while we were touring Cannery Row. We hadn't had any authentic Indian Chai in a while and decided to see if this was up to our standards. It was. It was good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I have had better”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We are both British by background and have had a lot of Indian food.
This just didn't do it for us. The flavors were bland and the portions a bit small by US standards.
The service was fine and the decor and ambience of the establishment were good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robmigrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia India Bistro also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Ambrosia India Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing