We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and atmosphere”

Domenico's On the Wharf
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenico's On the Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Del Monte and Washington
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit has stops on Pacific street just off of Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Complimentary trolley service is available during the summer months as well
Description: A local favorite since 1981, Domenico's On the Wharf specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, including local Monterey Bay spot prawns, wild sockeye salmon, and Alaskan red king crab. The restaurant also features an award-winning wine list and beautiful views of the Monterey Harbor. In addition to its standard menu, Domenico's On the Wharf provides vegetarian, children's and banquet menus. The restaurant is pet-friendly and offers a menu for its canine friends.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great view and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant dinner for 6 here which cost about $150 (we're not big alcohol drinkers). The staff was excellent. Our waiter even answered some of our harbor seal questions. The view was beautiful. We watched seals throughout dinner. The food was fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic M, Owner at Domenico's On the Wharf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Michigan Travelwriter - Thank you very much for dining at Domenico's On the Wharf and taking the time to share your experience. The seals do put on a nice show for our diners and we are glad you and your party enjoyed it. Thank you for the compliments to our staff - we will share it with them. We strive to provide excellent service and food along with the view. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    231
    91
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still the Best Restaurant in the Area!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Over the past 20 years I have visited Domenico's on many, many occasionss. Recent additions to the wharf have made reaching Domenico's difficult so the restaurant now pays for valet parking. I doubt we would have chosen Domenico's without this attractive option. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding. I am just sorry the wharf has been enlarged so that Domenico's has been somewhat diminished.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic M, Owner at Domenico's On the Wharf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
JPL33401 - Thank you very much for dining with us over the last 20 years - that is terrific! We are honored and so glad you enjoyed our valet service which we reimburse on Fridays and Saturdays after 5pm with the purchase of two entree's. We love to please our customers with outstanding service and delicious food - we are so glad you always find your way back to Domenico's On the Wharf. We look forward to your visits over the next 20 years. Take special care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine dining on the Wharf in Monterey”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Domenico's just looked good from the outside. Located about 1/2 way down Fisherman's Wharf on Monterey Bay we found a real gem. As soon as we entered we were met by a very helpful staff. Our order was taken quickly and the food arrived very soon after. I had the seafood alfreado and my wife had the sea food medley (salmon, shrimp and other fishes. The food was outstanding, beyond excellent. The staff stayed with us asking if we needed anything. What a great eatery,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good served wrong drinks and had to send food back”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went here for dinner after receiving a recommendation from the front desk at our hotel. We were seated promptly ...nice table with a view and a very nice Maitre De. Waiter took our drink order and returned with wrong drinks. It wasnt even close to what we had ordered and their were four of us and he only brought two drinks. He was insitant that it as our table. Maitre D came over and re-took our drink order. For dinner two of us ordered the calamari steak. It arrived bunred and very tough. again, Maitre came over and apologized and we had to re-order some thing else.Meanwhile our friends ate their entree and then had to wait while we ate ours. Maitre D gave us complimentary lemoncello as an apology but, we wont go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wine by the glass $ 3.00”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Please bring me two at a time .Had dinner here two nights in a row ,lots of wonderful food, service was accomidating and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlieviewpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenico's On the Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Domenico's On the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing