We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour - Worth Every Cent!!”
Review of Wine Trolley Tours

Wine Trolley Tours
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let our Historic Trolleys "Glory" and the "Mona Lisa" take you on an unforgettable journey wine tasting through the delightfully charming Carmel Valley, California. Pinot Noirs, Chardonneys, Cabernets, Viogniers, Reds and Whites, Sweet or Dry, our guides offer an insider's perspective to the family of well-known producers and an introduction to the lesser known gems that call Carmel Valley home. (List of Wineries) Come spend the day enjoying great food, great wine and great times. We rendez-vous at the Wharf Market Place - 290 Figueroa St., Monterey CA (Map). Come early and procure yourself a hearty breakfast at the Wharf Market Place Deli & Cafe. Stroll out front at 10:45 AM for the 11:00 AM tour and we'll whisk you off for beatiful vistas, great food and a ton of wine appreciation. Then it's back to the Wharf Market Place by 4:00. The "Trolley Platters" are prepared fresh at Tarpy's Roadhouse for you to lunch on at Cima Collina Winery with either a glass of wine or a tasting of 6 wines . When you purchase your tickets, you can request our standard platters or order special Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten Free or Pork Free platters. 5 Hour Tour - 11:00 AM to 4:00 PM - Visit 3 to 6 wineries depending on what package you purchase. All Tour Packages ride on the same trolley, depart and return at the same time.
Linden, MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour - Worth Every Cent!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

First, our guide Gary is great! He made you feel right at ease. We had a small group since it was the Sunday before Christmas but we got the Grand Service!! Gary really knew what he was doing and took us to all the right places. He took great care of us and introduced us to Cowboy Pete which made the winery visits ever more fun. Thank you and we can't wait to come back!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    42
    12
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
“Definitely Recommend!!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I went with my best friend for a girls weekend to California. We had a blast with Gary! Loved the music he played, he took us to some AMAZING wineries remembered our names when the tour was over to give us our boxes of wine! It was probably in my top 2 of favorite things we did while we were in Monterey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ararmatys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Loved the music on the trolley! My two sisters came from out of town and we had a wonderful time! Memories that will last a life time!! Thank u!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenL436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dällikon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My partner and I joined the Wine Trolly Tour on the 24th of October and we had a great time. Gary was informative, friendly and a great host. His adorable dog Nugget joined us as well, which added an extra delight to the whole trip. We will definitely join this trip again the next time we are in Monterey.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went on a Friday in November, there were 4 other couples on the trolley (but apparently the next day, Saturday, he had a full trolley booked). It was a blast, Gary was entertaining and adds value to the expereince. You stop at the first winery where you sit down on the patio and do a full tasting and get "educated" on wine. Our package allowed us to get a "free" bottle of their table wine. Then you head down into Carmel valley and park at the next winery, where you can enjoy a glass of wine (included) and your cheese plate on their patio, or whatever your package includes. And then you're free to roam wherever you want for a few hours. There are a lot of tasting rooms within close proximity. Gary provides recommendations on which wineries to visit and which ones accept the tasting passes included in the tour. The ones included in the tour were more than enough. I highly recommend jumping aboard cowboy Pete's tractor and letting him take you for a spin up to some wineries that aren't as easy to walk to. He's a character!!! We also cracked a bottle of wine on the trolley ride back to Monerey and shared it with another couple. Overall we had a blast!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Trolley Tours also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Wine Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing