We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isabella's on the Wharf - CLOSED

Isabella's on the Wharf
Cuisines: American, Soups, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
turlock, california
Level Contributor
236 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sometimes we try a new place but it's never as good as Isabella's! We love the patio dining facing the harbor and eat outside whenever possible. The menu offers a great selection and prices are reasonable. (Haute Enchilada in Moss Landing is rather pricey to us) Anyway, we had the free fried artichoke hearts appetizer and free dessert. What more could anyone want?! The clam chowder is creamy, the fish and chips great, the sand dabs are crisp......fish tacos to die for. And our favorite waiter is Adam! But all the staff is friendly and on the ball. (sorry he wasn't there Wednesday!) Anyway, try it and you'll come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    70
    23
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ugh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I Picked This Restaurant Out Of All The Ones On The Wharf Because We Went There Once Before. This Time We Walked Up And Saw The Lady With The Sign That Said Seating Upstairs ( Which I Knew Had The View Of The Water) But Did We Get Sat Upstairs No. We Sat At A Table That All You Could See Was The People Walking By. Then The Food Was Not That Good. Considering They Gave You Food Like You Were In One Of Those Fancy Restaurants (A Little Food On A Huge Plate) . Considering All The Other Restaurants Had Good Servings I Forgot That This One Didn't Plus Last Time I Just Had Salad.
We Probably Won't Go Back Again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GilroyBikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant amidst a sea of tourist traps.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

How nice to get a great meal on a wharf in a tourist town!!! Surprising and relieving to know places like this exist. The fish was fresh, cooked just right, and not over-seasoned. The food for kids was good too, not boring like so many restaurant's kid food. The meal starts off strong with excellent cocktails and finishes well with ginormous desserts too. Also, plenty of steaks and chicken for those not interested in fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenaissanceMan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great meal and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We tried this place on the Wharf for the first time -- what a great pick. The atmosphere is well appointed (and Isabella's painted images hung about). I had an iceberg lettuce wedge salad and Sand Dab dinner and my wife had Petrale Sole -- both generous and delicious! It felt like everybody in the restaurant was taking care of us, yet not intrusively. We even met the Chef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Fishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very friendly staff greeted us at the door. We ordered fish tacos which were very good; had poppyseed dressing in it with some small pieces of pineapple. We also ordered the New England fish chowder in a bread bowl; very rich chowder and very fresh bread. Their desserts looked delicious, but we were very full when we left! A must-go in Monterey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's on the Wharf also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing