We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE owner, do not stay here”
Review of Casa Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Verde Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The owner/manager of this hotel is extremely rude. I called to cancel my reservation for the September 22 weekend of the Monterey Jazz Festival, it is July 27. I had much difficulty communicating with him, and I am a pretty patient, seasoned traveller. He was very impatient and rude. I tried to cancel my reservation online and it said it could not be cancelled online, that I should contact the hotel. When I called, the manager refused to cancel my reservation because "He would lose his commission that he had paid". (I am not making this up!) There was no other phone number available on the website where I made the reservation, so I emailed them. I suspect it will not be a problem if the website people have any customer service skills.
The same man had called a friend of mine a couple weeks ago stating that he needed to raise her rate. That when he had taken her reservation, he had not realized that it was the Monterey Jazz Festival Weekend, even though he is located across the street. They had a long and difficult conversation and she said her rate was confirmed by her credit card and she had a receipt. He said she would be "sleeping in the dumpster". Really! She had intended to show up anyway, but the whole thing is just a recipe for disaster. I would hate to stay at this hotel with this unreasonable man! Stay clear!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hyacinthcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Casa Verde Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2007

I'm the type of traveler that would rather spend money on fun stuff to do on vacation instead of hotels, but this was even too much for us. It was like staying in someone's walk in closet, it's extremely dated, had an awful closed in smell and just felt bad. The beds were uncomfortable, taking a shower was like being in a car wash--there wasn't a shower head in the shower, just a pipe sticking out of the wall. And some of the late night clientel--at least during our stay were a little shady and kept us up all night roaming around the parking lot talking as loud as possible. Staying in such a beautiful area made it a little easier because it allowed us to stay out of the hotel as much as possible by staying out late in the evenings and leaving at the crack of dawn. Coming from a frugal vacationer, this place is definately not recommended--spend a few more bucks you won't regret it!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Louie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Great place to stay if your looking for no thrills. The motel is convenient, CLEAN, and has a friendly front desk staff that pays attention to your needs. We would stay here again. Face it, Monterey is a great place to spend your time outdoors and if you just need a comfortable place to crash, then the Casa Verde is perfect. We also ordered a great Italian pizza from the on-site restaurant. You can't go wrong if your looking for a good price since rooms are so expensive in Monterey.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank Mitch_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Docteur_snake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Isa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non saprei cosa consigliare
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiqueFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#22 of 56 in Monterey
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#4 of 10 in Monterey
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Inn

Address: 2113 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: $57 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Verde Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing