We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candle Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candle Bay Inn
Ranked #52 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Lahaina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Candle Bay Inn is very basic and average. It was a little expensive for what it was, especially since it is located directly next to an adult store. I would probably spend an extra $10 and stay somewhere nicer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amybfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
6
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Talk about old school basics. The room was super tiny, old box TV set, old school thin covers, closet door didn't open. Over priced for the room size. Bathroom had a musty smell to it even with the window open. Last minute booking. Would not recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laradi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is disgusting. Very dingy and dirty room. Dark and dreary and the bathroom had a smell and the sink was half off of the wall. The bedding was very cheap with thin, sheets and a disgusting blanket. The area is also not that nice. There was noise late into the night and if any other guest came and went throughout the night, you heard it. I don't think I would want my dog staying at this hotel. Stay away from it.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel. You will feel such a rip-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband found this hotel on Google Maps. We were looking for a basic hotel in Monterey for one night. First of all, it is located next to an adult book store. The room's window was open when we pulled up. Apparently it was "airing" out. The room smelled, the carpet felt sticky, the mattress was hard; it was like sleeping on a box-spring. I was on the bed for like five minutes before I started feeling the bites on my arms and legs. They have BEDBUGS! The bathroom had recently been remodeled-which was a plus but that wasn't enough to keep up there. My husband and I only stayed there long enough to book another hotel room. I am generally not one to complain about amenities or the like, but this place needed to be scraped off the map and burned! It could only be cleansed with fire! Please do yourselves the favor and pay the extra fifty or sixty dollars and go somewhere else. It was disgusting!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M1978_capuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place was really good for the price. Rooms were nice and clean. They were little smaller but it was good enough for us. They have high speed internet, which actually provides high speed. The location was PERFECT. It was close to many of the good restaurants, beaches and major attractions in Monterey.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Grove, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Over priced,dirty(old drink cup and dust under bed), door locks are cheap residential exterior door locks, which can easily be left unlocked when exiting the room. There is no dead bolt, the door chain is not substantial protection. The usual amenities are missing no ice machine, no ice bucket or cups, no coffee maker, no refrigerator, no microwave, no alarm clock. closet is closed in very narrow access hard to get in especially with mobility challenges. no rack for suitcase, Bathroom lit by one three light vanity light in the far corner over the toilet with dim light for the bath tub, and no sink in the bathroom. The sink is in the corner of the bedroom in that room there are two lights a desk lamp and a sconce in the middle of the wall over the television, This gives very little light especially for the sink. Overall the room is tiny, ill designed and ill equipped, avoid if possible. There was no pool or fitness room, there was a night club two doors down, partying young people came in and created a disturbance til very late at night.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, the motel is run down and ill equiped, needs major remodeling and upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, Caiifornia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We got a 2 double bed room. It has too much furniture for how little it is. To get on the bed in the second room you have to crawl on it because theres no room to walk around the bed. we had to piece together one bed because the linen was full of hair and what looked to be like deoderant was stuck on the blanket. Two used wet washclothes were hanging from the shower rod. The sink faucet had mildew and algae under the cap. The towel rack was broke. The toilet seat was broke and the toilet needed the pemistone and scrubbed badly. The linen was a little worse for wear. There was no coffee maker, blow dryer or refridgerator But the room did look like it had fresh paint. I really only have one requirement for a motel room and that is it must be clean and this place was disgusting. For $150 it was not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
2.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#53 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey
Motel 6 Monterey
#51 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Bay Inn

Property: Candle Bay Inn
Address: 2118 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213 (Formerly Paris Motel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Candle Bay Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candle Bay Inn features 14 recently renovated guest rooms. The business-friendly rooms are equipped with wireless Internet access, free local calls, housekeeping and wake-up calls. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, marble tiles and granite counter tops. Monterey offers many year round activities, so any time is the best time to visit Monterey, whether it's the Monterey Bay Aquarium, the Monterey Museum of Art or one of our other museums, or a Monterey whale watching excursion. Monterey's activities can keep you busy from the moment you get up in the morning until you rest your head at night. History buffs can walk the Path of History to see the old buildings that remain from Monterey's period as California's capital, while wine fans can stroll among the city's tasting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Candle Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing