We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful amenity of the area!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Peninsula Recreational Trail

Ranked #4 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular hiking trail running along the Pacific Grove and Monterey coast.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful amenity of the area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Remember to keep in your proper lanes -- either walking or biking to make it safer for yourself and others. We walked from Cannery Row to the Pacific Grove end and then beyond Lover's Point on just the walking path. The coast is beautiful and you pass a beach usually full of seals. Look in the water for otters and seals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rob_tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    124
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Favorite thing about Monterey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We use the Recreational Trail ALL the time when going to the aquarium with our little ones. On nice days, it is just so wonderful to be out in the sun, next to the ocean, and seeing the wonderful sights Monterey has to offer (Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row). So many people use the trail I feel safe enough walking alone with my kiddos. As you get closer to the Aquarium, there are restaurants that shoot off the trail and shops that you can visit....it is truly a WONDERFUL part of this city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gretchiekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great bike ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lots of places to stop and easily lock up bikes. At South terminus of trail, keep going on street to Asilomar State Beach for a great beach walk and views.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuarts438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect for Runners and Walkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The trail can get busy so be courteous of other runners, walkers, and bikers. One can easily get in a decent 10 or 20 miler. Views are breathtaking. I do most of my runs on the Pacific Grove side. Bring a sweatshirt even if sunny as the fog can move in quickly. Trail is well kept.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LodiWineBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a great place to bike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Highly recommend to go on a bike tour over the trail! The view was fabulous! Lots of fun to go on surrey/two-seater bike. Just love it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Peninsula Recreational Trail also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Peninsula Recreational Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing