We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money.”
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good value for money.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the services are great.the wifi connecation works fine too. The parking is for free.

We stayed for 2 nights and was all good.

This is probably the best inn you can get in Monterey.

It is close to the wharf, but you will need a car for it, nevertheless there is a Denny's just in front and a liquor store nearby.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GabrielCotrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    337
    181
    47
    34
See reviews for
367
243
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very nice and clean. Breakfast area needs to be larger for the amount of guests they serve. The three days during the week we stayed they were very busy. We went for breakfast at 3 different
times and it was busy every day. But it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NammieGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice place. Conformable beds, pool is big, deep, nice for kids. Some traffic noise.
But the worst is the breakfast area. 4 tables for that many rooms is ridiculous. The buffet is so tiny you have to queue 15 to 20min to get something. Then hope to find a place to sit. We stayed 2 days, both the same problem despite 1h difference in our schedule. This really needs to be fixed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Rooms are huge. Perfect for families. The only need is to widen the tiny breakfast area. The motel is popular among European families which use to spend long time having breakfast. The result is that you are forced to bring everything in your room

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vecchioalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This motel is not worth the 150€ I paid as the walls are paper thin and the clb next door is very loud all night long !
I did call the reception several times : they said they called the police after my 3rd call bit no change. For a hotel that pretends to be at 300€ this is totally UNACCEPTABLE. They mentioned a discount but this will not give me back the night sleep I desperatly needed...

Room Tip: Not > 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noubecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am very particular where I stay. I would highly recomend this motel to everyone. Price very reasonable and room very clean. The only issue I had was accessing the wifi. Breakfast had a very good variety

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights with hubby and 7 year old.
To be perfectly honest the only thing I have to moan about is the fact that the young man on reception kept several people waiting whilst he was talking on the phone ( business or pleasure, he really should of ended the call sooner) .
The rooms were clean and tidy, and the pool came in handy for my son in the afternoon, the breakfast was also very nice.
All in all it was a comfortable stay and value for money...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Franca Inn
Villa Franca Inn
#32 of 56 in Monterey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing