We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and confortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brasilia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and confortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

During our stay we could sleep well, the room was clean and had enough space por 3 people. We stayed in a two queen bed room. Breakfast was good if we compare to other motels and hotels that we had. Unfortunately, like all the places we´ve stayed in, it had carpet on the floor, which I think it is very bad for alergic people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appeltaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    287
    153
    41
    30
See reviews for
289
216
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in this motel for one night. I was check in around 10:00 pm. It was cold outside and I asked if I can get inside the room. The front desk guy unhappy to open the door for me and didn't let me know the door is opened for me. I waiting for few second until I push the door when I came to the room he already back to the desk. The room is ok, the shower is good, everything is more standard. The continental breakfast is ok.

Room Tip: Choose the room far from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything done professionally. Clean, nice rooms, quiet, great attitude at front desk. Good breakfast and nice convenient parking. We loved the easy in and out and easy parking and access to the rooms. Within minutes to everything we wanted to see.

Room Tip: Looks like one of the better hotels in the area. Everything is in tip top condition and beds are com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely tidy and comfy motel. 10 minutes from Carmel in the car. Really enjoyed our stay here, and we thought the breakfast was great! Loved making our own waffles!
The only negative is the club next door, we too had room 133! We were told a fib by the receptionist, she told us it was the only room left and it is close to the road so can be a little noisy, but the club is the problem! My husband was out the front having his evening cigarette and noted the name of the club, he promptly found the clubs web address using the motels free wi fi, he then emailed the club to turn the music down, and they replied straight away and turned down the volume!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel features the smallest continental breakfast I have ever seen. There is no fruit, the muffins are cut into quarters, no hot cereal, no yogurt, etcetera. What it does offer is dry cold cereal, orange juice and waffles.
It is blocks to the airport and was very noisy during the day. We didn't hear any air traffic at night. The bed spreads are the old 70's style quilts that seem difficult if not imposible to keep clean. The room was undersized although the sink was outside the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for your review of our hotel! We are conveniently located near the airport. Our hotel is also near all of Monterey's major attractions. Also, i'm so excited to share that our next two upgrades to the property will be the breakfast and the bedding! We will be adding some variety to the breakfast and updating our bed sets. We look forward to sharing those upgrades with you during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We'd specified (through Hotels.com) a quiet room as my wife and I are both light sleepers (see other reviews!)

Checked in on foursquare who's first tip was to avoid being in the one room behind the club - 133 from memory. That was our room...

I asked if we could be moved (as the receptionist said that the noise didn't die down until 12.30pm from the comedy club next door) but they made lots of fuss about getting us another room due to other bookings. I said I'd upgrade for something quieter so they made another room available with 2 queens and wanted $20 upgrade. We agreed on $10 - but did feel that given we'd actually specified 'quiet room' when booking and then got put in the 'club room' that they should have moved us at no extra cost

Our new room was next to the family quarters - and I was woken from 4.30am onwards by what sounded like heavy running water in a bath on and off for 3 hours

Very disappointing given our plea for something quiet

Breakfast included but same waffle machine/carb-fest as you get in most Motels - we didn't stop

If you're a heavy sleeper then fine, if not then consider somewhere else

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank j1mbojones94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good place to stay. Clean, renovated, & comfortable. Nice bathrooms & showers. Bed was a little hard, but not bad. Breakfasts were OK...would be nice to have some fresh fruit and protein options (hard boiled eggs, peanut butter, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGcat1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I appreciate that you took the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear your stay was comfortable and thank you for the input on the breakfast menu! We are soon adding just what you requested! Once again, thank you for your wonderful rating. We hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#20 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#30 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing