We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brutally good accomodation, a real surprise”
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brutally good accomodation, a real surprise”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This motel was better than most 3 star hotels, room almost 4 star hotel standard, except size. Where to start, location excellent, secure parking, wifi works top notch, king size bed, flat tv, fridge, microwave, hairdryer, 2 cards instead of keys, super clean, good toilet...I really don't have any bad sides to this motel. Breakfast decent, cereals,muffins and stuff. My girl and me were super surprised in positive way. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hajnxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and high rating of our motel! We, here at El Castell Motel, work very hard to meet all of the needs of our guests to ensure a pleasant stay. We are overjoyed that you found our amenities to be more than satisfactory. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    329
    176
    47
    34
See reviews for
358
241
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family of 4 (two adults, two young children) stayed 2 nights mid-week in April 2013. We were impressed with the price for our room ($75/night). Our room was clean and had been remodeled with new linoleum and bathroom fixtures, but could have used new carpet. The room was on the end next to a street so we did hear some traffic, so if you need extreme quiet, ask for a room away from the street... but for us with a noisy toddler, this was perfect. We enjoyed the pool, which is not entirely indoors but shelters you from the direct weather, though we did have to go request pool towels at the front desk. Didn't try the breakfast at all, instead we walked across the street to Denny's. You will need a car to visit the beach or any of the family-oriented Monterey attractions, but everything was a short drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kslaboch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at El Castell Motel!
We have recently renovated and we are constantly improving our facilities and rooms to ensure our guest's comfort during their stay. We truly appreciate your review of our motel and look forward to the next time we're able to host you during your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stay for one night ,it was nice and clean rooms very quiet.... price was good, only breakfast was poor; it needs some fruit, eggs and yogurt . the service was ok . need more smiles ,..I recommended it . location is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a process to improve breakfast by adding some fruits, eggs and yogurt. We will encourage our staff members to create more accommodating environment. We are looking forward to accommodate you for your next trip in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The lady in the from office was so rude , just the way to talk to the customer especially if they made messes you know because of there kids eating breakfast. It just really bother me cause I'm in guest services and you don't treat your customers that way. But other then that the stay was nice and i stay for 4 days with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjustinturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at El Castell Motel. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed four days stay with us. Your suggestion is valuable and we will encourage our breakfast serving staff to be more polite and friendly with guests. We will also make sure to give excellent customer service to our guests. We look forward to accommodate you for your future trip in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went in early April, it was very clean, service was excellent and friendly. We are a young couple so we enjoyed the fact that there was a comedy/ club next door. You can't beat the value, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your precious time to share your holiday experience at El Castell Motel and recommending it to others . Your review is valuable because we have lot of young couples staying with us. Thank you for sharing your experience at comedy club next door. We are also close to downtown Monterey night life and family attractions. We are definitely looking forward to welcome you for your future trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good location decent value. I do not see any of these motels as being worth what they charge. In fact that is why we hardly visit the area anymore despite the fact that we love it. Breakfast is juice, muffins, instant oatmeal, cold cereal and fresh Belgium waffles. No fruit or yogurts and the area is very small. There is no coffee in the rooms but lets face it that stuff sucks. The coffee in the lobby is EXCELLENT! (Only dry creamer) and they do have small to go cups with lids to get back to your room. The downstairs jr suite rooms were nice and have been nicely remodeled with good little fridge and microwaves. The sleeper sofa bed was horrible uncomfortable though cleanly made up. We thought the regular beds too soft but every one is different. My mom liked her pillow I thought it was way past too soft. All in all a nice little motel run by a nice family. I will say the TP was beyond thin. Next door to the fair grounds and very handy if needed that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcinnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank You for taking time to share your experience at El Castell Motel with others. Your review is important because it gives us an opportunity to constantly improve. We are in a process to add fruits, eggs and yogurt to our breakfast menu. For the convenience of our guests, we are also in a process to add coffee maker as an additional amenity in our rooms. We are thankful to you for sharing your experience on junior suit. Junior suit is one of the rooms that we recently remodeled. We are looking forward to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

So it's a motel, and I am going to review it on that scale. No concierge or anything here. However, I kind of laughed to myself because this hotel has more "free amenities" than most larger hotels. Namely, free wifi and parking. Anyway, I booked this from my phone just an hour or so before arriving to Monterey. When I arrived, someone greeted me promptly. I noticed the lobby was very clean, which was promising. Walls were a little thin, but there was no noise at night, so I was okay with that.

Our room was very clean and smelled really nice and had a flatscreen TV. The AC is serious business in that it chills the room very quickly, I was shivering, but my hubby is a polar bear and loved it. The wifi was a little slow, but I was still able to stream Amazon videos, so it wasn't terrible. It also appeared to be recently renovated, in that it didn't scream 70s, but more of an attempt to look like a traditional current hotel room. The price was excellent for the cleanliness and comfort. I have paid more for much less quality. I would definitely recommend this motel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nononana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at El Castell Motel with others! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and inviting. Our rooms are recently renovated and we are constantly updating our facilities as the quality of our guest's stay is very important to us. Which is also why we offer complimentary WiFi and a continental breakfast every morning. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#36 of 55 in Monterey
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#29 of 55 in Monterey
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing