We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, clean rooms, fun trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Price, clean rooms, fun trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel room was bigger than we expected. The rooms were clean, and nice. No complaints.. The indoor pool was a favorite for the kids. The breakfast was o.k, it could have offered more, they just had bread waffles, and cereal for a main dish, no fruit or anything non carb. related. It was pretty packed in the morning at breakfast, so get there early.

Room Tip: The pool was great for the kids. Rooms in the back two stories were a bit loud with car noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphindude77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    273
    142
    38
    29
See reviews for
273
201
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Where do I start? We have 3 kids so I usually go for a less expensive hotel...but this was awful!! When we got there at 12:30am. The.guy was in the back sleeping, took 10 mins of ringing the bell in the cold to get him up. He said nothing about breakfast, said your room's that way,' and pointed. The walls are SO thin we could hear EVERY word our neighbors said, let alone being awoken at 7am to their morning sex. : / the lights have timers, and kept going off, the TV also had a timer and vol controlled, it was so far from the beds we couldnt hear ot at full vol, the shower had no pressure and barely got warm. The woman who cleaned up at breakfast cleaned the floor than the table!! Eeew..with the same rag. She was cleaning around ppl while they were still eating and trying to make their waffles. My son was holding 2 packaged pastries trying to decide which he wanted. She took one from him, put it back and said, only one. The pool is not fully enclosed, wasnt very 'heated'. There was not enough parking for everyone. The door was so hard to open, only my husband could do it. It IS conveniently located...but there are like 6 better hotels on the same street. I would def. Recommend to keep looking...this place was just awful. Like I said, I am a thrifty hotel person...but this was NOT worth the $319.00 for 3 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank provert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Up stairs room was newly painted and upgraded. Great bed, new bathroom fixtures. Clean carpet.
At check in, was charged an extra five dollars because I used Booking.com and did not call the motel directly. My credit card was not charged even though I gave the card info. to Bookings.com. The clerk proceeded to charge my card and added an extra 5 dollars... $97.00 total including 10% tax. Indoor pool was clean but not very warm. We hoped for February it would be useable. The breakfast was all sugars; no fruit no protein. No dvd player or music channel on the television.There is a low clearance to drive to the back of the motel. The sign said 7 feet clearance. It was way less and scraped the top of my truck. I told the desk clerk that the pipe obviously has been struck several times and had been bent down for a long time. He just said "sorry". (My truck is 6' 9"). The pipe hangs down a good 6 inches lower than the actual clearance, making it ever lower. The metal pipe should be replaced with a plastic one and raised to the stated height.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuarts438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Room is very clean and new.beds are soft. Hot water is ok but no hot water in face basin.wifi is steady and fast.where is indoor pool? No coffee machine in room. Have microwave in room. No microwave in breakfast place. Breakfast coffee is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry8964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this place by accident and for under $50 a night it was an absolute bargain. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the rooms and facilities are very good. The staff are also very attentive. Not so keen on the breakfast (waffles) but I did have coffee and toast/muffins which was within the nightly rate. Close to restaurants and attractions. Carol Bonnie Scotland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol1953_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Valley, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

excellent complimentary breakfast including waffles, Limited seating though. We met a wonderful couple from England sharing a table for breakfast. swimming pool, vending machines. clean rooms, friendly staff. Just a short drive to attractions, great value. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PASue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiwanda, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We brought our family to the Monterey Aquarium and spent the night at El Castell Motel. It was clean, quiet and very comfortable for our family. We as well had their continental breakfast which served a variety of breakfast choices. They were in the middle of a remodel and demolision to their indoor pool (which we intend to stop by and use on our next stay in Monterey). Very close to the Aquarium and to the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie_Family6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#20 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#33 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing