We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean no frills at all”
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean no frills at all”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Up stairs room was newly painted and upgraded. Great bed, new bathroom fixtures. Clean carpet.
At check in, was charged an extra five dollars because I used Booking.com and did not call the motel directly. My credit card was not charged even though I gave the card info. to Bookings.com. The clerk proceeded to charge my card and added an extra 5 dollars... $97.00 total including 10% tax. Indoor pool was clean but not very warm. We hoped for February it would be useable. The breakfast was all sugars; no fruit no protein. No dvd player or music channel on the television.There is a low clearance to drive to the back of the motel. The sign said 7 feet clearance. It was way less and scraped the top of my truck. I told the desk clerk that the pipe obviously has been struck several times and had been bent down for a long time. He just said "sorry". (My truck is 6' 9"). The pipe hangs down a good 6 inches lower than the actual clearance, making it ever lower. The metal pipe should be replaced with a plastic one and raised to the stated height.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuarts438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    323
    174
    46
    33
See reviews for
348
236
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Room is very clean and new.beds are soft. Hot water is ok but no hot water in face basin.wifi is steady and fast.where is indoor pool? No coffee machine in room. Have microwave in room. No microwave in breakfast place. Breakfast coffee is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry8964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this place by accident and for under $50 a night it was an absolute bargain. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the rooms and facilities are very good. The staff are also very attentive. Not so keen on the breakfast (waffles) but I did have coffee and toast/muffins which was within the nightly rate. Close to restaurants and attractions. Carol Bonnie Scotland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol1953_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Valley, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

excellent complimentary breakfast including waffles, Limited seating though. We met a wonderful couple from England sharing a table for breakfast. swimming pool, vending machines. clean rooms, friendly staff. Just a short drive to attractions, great value. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiwanda, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We brought our family to the Monterey Aquarium and spent the night at El Castell Motel. It was clean, quiet and very comfortable for our family. We as well had their continental breakfast which served a variety of breakfast choices. They were in the middle of a remodel and demolision to their indoor pool (which we intend to stop by and use on our next stay in Monterey). Very close to the Aquarium and to the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie_Family6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The motel is good value compared to downtown Monterey but a short drive into town. Parking in town and the traffic is not good, so a downtown hotel with parking would be a plus. The El Castell, however, is clean, comfortable and good value. There are a few restaurants and shops locally within walking distance.

The free breakfast was the same scrum as any hotel offering a free breakfast. To say it was nothing special would be an over-statement of the truth. Why do so many hotels / motels offer these tacky free breakfasts when they clearly do not have the room nor facilities to do it justice?

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter as you don't hear footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinABristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent Location close to Monterey if you have a car. Rooms were exceptionally clean and modern for a motel. I would definitely recommend this place to friends. It was nicer than some of the hotels I stayed at while travelling down the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmOkeythebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing