We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room, price is right.”
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Upon our drive up the coast we stayed at many motels, El Castell did it's job. Room was clean
(had a weird smell from the cleaning products), large, looked recently updated, and price could not be beat. It was also not too far from all attractions. If we did the trip again, I am not sure that we would stop in Monterey again, but if we did, El Castell motel would be booked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
There are newer reviews for El Castell Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 844 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the El Castell during our honeymoon. We were looking for a nice place that was well-reviewed to save some money. We were happy with this place. The room was a little small and the bathroom was aged, but it was clean and there was some noise from outside, but nothing too loud. The hotel is away from the ocean, but it was a good deal for Monterey. The El Castell was better than we expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffalomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel when we came to Monterey for the Beer Fest. The location of this hotel is literally right across the street!! The room was small, but clean. The room overall was perfect for what we needed; some where to lay are drunken heads. :) We didn't check out the pool, but it looked well maintained and it's centrally located between the rooms. Breakfast was a tradional continental breakfast (cereal, toast, waffles, and muffins).

Overall, our experience was perfect. I would stay at this hotel again and I would also recommend it to anyone who is looking for really close distance to the fairgrounds. Their are several restaurants near the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anicole4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the El Castell at the end of April, 2012. The rooms were spacious and very clean, comfortable beds, modern wall-mounted flat screen tv, small fridge and microwave. Breakfast available in the office each morning, pleasant staff.

The motel is close to Hwy 101 and only 2 miles away from Cannery Row, so easy to get to most places on the peninsula. There's a CVS pharmacy just down the street and a Denny's restaurant across the road.

Overall, excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceasom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

For the price, this was an excellent place to stay. Very clean, nice staff, and close to restaurants. Wifi was very iffy.....sometimes super slow or unable to log in at all, and other times, very quick. Room was average in size with 2 queen beds. Beds were hard, but no worse than other hotels in this price range. Microwave and Fridge were in good working order but the fridge took quite a while to cool things down once it was turned on. There were only 2 of us, so room was big enough, but it might seem a bit crowded if there had been more of us. All in all, a good place to stay at a really good price, especially if you are just basically using it as a place to sleep and are out a great deal seeing the sights.

Room Tip: They are remodeling many rooms, so if you want the best, you might want to ask for one of the remode...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avaryclassylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The room was very clean and nice, with comfortable beds, good sized towels, and a decent shower head. The location close to downtown Monterey was a plus. It looked to us like they were remodeling the property; our room had new carpet, new paint and new tile floor and walls in the bathroom.
Some negatives. Front Desk people not overly friendly; the young lady working evenings didn't even get up when I went to check in.
Lighting is a big minus; they have the timed switches, so if you are trying to work at the desk or bed, the ceiling lights go off after a length of time. And, they are using the fluorescent lights that brighten up slowly, and don't get really bright. We couldn't read in bed because there was so little light. In the bathroom it took almost 5 minutes for the light to get bright enough to do any good. Don't know if they are trying to conserve energy, but this is not good.
Overall, though, the property was well taken care of
We would stay here again..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We went to monterey and took PCH what a drive. Breakfast consisted of waffles, coffee, orange juice and apple juice. Took a dip in the pool with the fam bam and i wished it was a little warmer. The rooms where big and the beds where ok not to shabby. The price was great and it was close to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#34 of 56 in Monterey
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $70 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing