We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new renovated bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“new renovated bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This motel was very clean with the rooms recently renovated. The room had a mini-frig, microwave and free wi-fi. The set up was nice because the sink area is separate from the shower area. The bed was very comfortable. They have a nice in-door swimming pool. The breakfast was very limited but they did have a waffle maker. Everything was in the office area with a few tables. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A real bargain for under $60 a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    317
    173
    46
    33
See reviews for
343
234
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

The room was big and very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was pretty big. For $70 you could do much worse. It's not very close to downtown, but it's a quick drive. It's also a short drive to the beach. There are many restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyin1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This motel has everything I would expect of an expensive chain hotel, albeit a more basic. I came to Monterey to attend the Porsche Rennsport IV Reunion. With an advanced purchase reservation online, I obtained a rate under $70/night.

I found the staff friendly; the accommodations roomy; and the room comfortable. The bathroom area has granite-topped sink; new looking ceramic tile; and a bathtub. I was happy to see that my room had a queen bed; ironing board & iron; a fridge; a microwave; TV; and free Internet (wired & wireless). In keeping with the economical price, there are two tiny bars of soap and two tubes of conditioning shampoo.

Though no in-room coffee service, they did have a complimentary breakfast with self-made waffles, toast, coffee, orange juice, and apple juice. There is a covered, and heated lap pool that is probably the perfect temperature for serious swimmers. I'm not an avid swimmer who likes much warmer pool water.

I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Apparently there are different single room sizes. Be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was the cheapest room I could find in Monterey so we werent expecting alot but were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the room..it was actually a 2 bedroom apartment! We were travelling with 2 young children so they loved having their own room and a queen size bed each. The pool is great, its heated and enclosed. The staff member we dealt with at check in was not the friendliest or happiest but we got our keys no problem and did not have to deal with reception again during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

i was worried about the pictures and reviews about staying here but as soon as we got our keys and walked in the room was awesome! it had everything that we needed and was clean. we only paid about $55 for the room so the price was right. we would def stay here again. not near downtown but only about a 5 min drive, gas station and convenience store right across the street. quiet area and we stayed on a sat night

Room Tip: we had room 112 and it was right next to laundry so we didnt share with a neighbor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xmotomeagx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

we travelled from yosemite across to monteray arriving at mid night very tired with 3 kids aged 6,9,11.It was a good service at check in easy straight forward the rooms were clean just what we needed for a night to crash before moving on.The beds were big and the space was brilliant.Staff were very helpful in the morning of check out and breakfast.After being at lots of hotels it was a standard continental breakfast but good to get on the road.The kids enjoyed the waffle maker!!
Didnt use the pool but looked ok from outside.
Would book again no worries

Room Tip: All looked much of a muchness from outside not sure if i would use for main hotel for a week but gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you're booking here you're clearly not expecting a resort and you won't find one. The rooms are clean and the location is okay - it shares a parking lot with a "gentlemen's club" and you can hear the music from the club until very late. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: as for a room towards the rear of the property - it should be more quiet back there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#27 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing