We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful ”

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #16 of 328 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

My family was at plaza hotel for vacations.
We had breakfast at Schooners and was a big mistake. The place doesn’t have minimum hygiene conditions. We had a hair in our basket of breads. Staff absolutely didn’t mind, it was difficult to them to bring us another basket and charged me as if it was good.
Never return.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank munarettog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themontereyplaza, Managing Director at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear munarettog,

We are so sorry to hear about your experience at Schooners. I would like to learn more about your experience and invite you to reach out to me, Chris Sommers, at csommers@montereyplazahotel.com with additional information. I look forward to hearing from you and discussing any suggestions you may have for our team.

Sincerely,
Chris Sommers
Managing Director
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

We sat outside which is always a bonus. Everyone enjoyed their food. And, the seared tuna on the seafood salad (I added the tomato) was about as good as it can get

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Toddsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Solid food and overall dining experience and gorgeous view. The menu is not inspiring or particularly original, but everything we ordered was well prepared, with quality ingredients, and service was pleasant and helpful.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lackerfollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themontereyplaza, Managing Director at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Dear casadeboys,

Thank you for your feedback of your meal at Schooners. While we are glad that you were satisfied with your meal and the helpful service, we are disappointed that the food did not leave a lasting impression. If you have additional suggestions, please reach out to our Director of Food & Beverage, Darin Grohs, at dgrohs@montereyplazahotel.com. We hope to welcome you back for another chance to wow you!

Sincerely,
Chris Sommers
Managing Director
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

My cousin and I happened along this place just looking for a place to have lunch. And we were pleasantly surprised. We were seated by the window so we had a great view of the water. Our waitress was very helpful. The food was great.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Hardrocker8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay and meals here very much!!! The restaurant offers great views of the bay while enjoying all Coastal delights!!!! We also loved the pastries and coffee from Tidal Coffee located in Monterey Plaza as well!!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Aleciafreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing