We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
Saint James, New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for a few nights and ate at Schooners once. We requested a window table and I think we had the best one in the house. The service was delightful and the food was excellent. My wife and I both had the steak and it was cooked top perfection. The sides were also delicious. It was one of the best meals we had in our two weeks in California.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    463
    159
    62
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Anniversary Perfection”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited Schooners because it was one of the highest rated restaurants in the area. It was our anniversary and I wanted it to be perfect. The table had an excellent view of the water and the service was impeccable.

Schooners had wine paring special and each dish was superb. Call ahead if it is a special day, and they often will do little extras for you. Also, parking can be a problem, but the valet service is free, if you have your ticket validated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1CaliforniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, Director of Food & Beverage at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for selecting Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar to celebrate your anniversary and your thoughtful five-star review. I’m pleased you enjoyed our special seasonal menu and found the guest service impeccable. I look forward to sharing your review with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Cheers,

Diego Anea
Director of Food & Beverage
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant, with a beautiful view. Great food and service. Perfect for a date night, happy hour, or tourist lunch.

Helpful?
Thank PG-surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stopped by for a quick lunch before driving down the coast. What a great view of the bay and nice overall atmosphere. The food and service were good, although a little pricey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPBAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great server”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If possible, request Colleen as your server. Colleen is knowledgeable and on top of your every need.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank krweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing