We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey Plaza's Schooners is Smart Casual Dining at It's Best!”

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monterey Plaza's Schooners is Smart Casual Dining at It's Best!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I live in the midwest and spend 6 to 8 weeks in California every winter. Four or five days of that time are spent in Carmel/Monterey. While on the Monterey peninsula we are always looking for good seafood at value pricing.
Schooners in the Monterey Plaza Hotel was an incredible experience for us this year. We both ordered from the Early Catch Menu. It was a 3 coarse menu; starter, entree and dessert and included a glass of wine for little more than you might spend for a gourmet burger and drink. I started with a bowl of clam chowder and sourdough bread followed by Cioppino and concluded with an wonderful dessert. My wife substituted a chicken entree for the Cioppino. We had a window side table overlooking beautiful Monterey Bay, the pace was perfect (90 minutes) and our waiter Nickolas catered to us as if we might be dropping $100 a head which is easy to do in the area.
The Monterey Plaza is a first class hotel and Schooners is comfortable for discrete diners of varying attires.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent review of Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our Early Catch menu. I look forward to sharing your praise with Nickolas. We hope to see you again on your return trip to California next winter.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    463
    159
    62
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Service a little slow, but food ended up being better than expected. I got short ribs-- tender and to die for. My hubby got chicken which he said was good, but I didn't like the mayo type sauce they put on it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mhanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious dining experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The food is local, very well prepared, and served with amazing attention to your desires. You look out onto the Monterey Bay, watching seals and otters play, while the waves crash on the beach. Wonderful location and delicious food, go even if you are not staying at the hotel. You will love it too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGirlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the food, service and our commitment to local produce. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Monterey.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey for average food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

On our only evening I'm Monterey, we were looking forward to a fantastic experience. Food was average. Roasted lobster was small and it's stuffing was not as exceptional as it sounded on the menu. Service was the real disappointment. My husband asked for his favorite rum and was curtly told it was not available. After a disappointing substitute, he was told that maybe they could check "again" and behold, now they could find it. Would have been nice if they checked the first time rather than offer something 2x more expensive that did not taste good. Insult to injury was ( once we pointed this out) removing the drink he liked from our bill rather than the more expensive one that he did not.

Highlights: view, cioppino, attentive bus service and managers, margarita

I would not choose to come back for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgrl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“five star food, service and views”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had breakfast and dinner . The restaurant is in the Monterey Plaza hotel, (Great hotel by the way.) overlooking the monterey Bay. There are gorgeous views from almost anywhere you are seated. Our breakfast omelet was delicious and we had a large bowl of mixed berries with yogurt.
At dinner we had a delicious cioppino And I had the best grilled swordfish I ever had in any restaurant I've been to. Great wine list, great service. If you don't want a full sit down dinner, they have a great bar for a more casual dinner. We had a great night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing