We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bravo Schooners!”

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bravo Schooners!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I decided on a last minute get-away and decided to drive down to Monterey. We had a most delicious dinner at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. The food & wine was excellent, and our server, Sarda, was wonderful. We will definitely return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    439
    148
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food, wine list & view”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful experience. We've been coming to Monterey for weekends for the better part of the last 30 years, and this was our first experience at this restaurant, but it won't be our last! It was recommended to us by several local residents who come here regularly for special occasions, and I can see why! The professionalism & courteousness of staff, from the host who was able to help us with our special seating requests (which was our fault, we really should have specified when making the reservation), to the very knowledgeable sommelier who introduced us to (our now/new favorite) a beautiful chardonnay that we'd never thought to try before, was exceptional. Our server (Nikolas) was knowledgeable & attentive, and had perfect timing, never making us feel neither neglected, nor rushed, which is rare nowadays, and shows true talent in my opinion. The quality & preparation of the food was also superb. The baby beet salad was fresh, crisp & perfectly dressed. When I noted to the server how much I loved the beets, and how rare it is to find them on menus recently, a small plate with additional beets appeared by my side a few moments later, with the kitchens compliments. That's how wonderful the service is! Back to the food...the Angry Prawns, Swordfish, Mahi-Mahi & Salmon were also prepared to perfection. The sides complimented each of the mains, the plating was lovely & the taste was delicious. I'm running out of superlatives here, but to finish...the view is lovely, the atmosphere is very comfortable, and we've definitely found a new "go to" spot in Monterey!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about your recent dining experience at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. I am delighted to read Schooners has become your new “go to” restaurant in Monterey. I know our Restaurant and Culinary staff will be pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
“A Pleasant Gourmet Dinning in Schooner!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Food was excellent, Caring Service of Nickolas a professional & friendly Server was outstanding .... And the entire Atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
181 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best place for a honeymoon destination...”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

UOW...should i say UOW again! This place will forever mark our lives..not just because of the fantastic meal or the view..but because now it is part of our history as a couple. I remember just watching the view and my wife and thinking, this is what living is for..thank you schooners!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramaral15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view and the service are worth it!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We were first time dinners at schooners and were very pleased with our visit! The view first of all is amazing! Views of otters and sea lions will keep your attention while you wait for a house specialty cocktail which I recommend be the Bloody Mary! The angry prawns are a must and so are the steamed clams!! Our server Dominick did an amazing job with our entree recommendations and kept smiles on our faces with his charming personality and his sarcastic banter! I highly recommend stoping into this hidden gem and ask for Dominick if he is available!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lnoelle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing