We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Casual Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The atmosphere here is sophistical casual with great views of the bay. The food and drinks are excellent. However, the service was a bit slow for us but very friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    428
    144
    55
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had dinner at Schooners at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was great ! The soups are creamy and hot, I highly recommend the tuna poke and the angry prawns.
Our server, Sierra B., was very pleasant, knowledgeable about the menu , and very attentive . She was fantastic! The view is spectacular and we enjoyed every minute there. We will be back soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good views in all weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Whether for a coffee, beer or meal, Schooners offers quality food and a lovely setting to watch the sea life.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristineB28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A good find on Cannery Row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

While most places on Cannery Row are tourist traps, this place is a real find. While it is a hotel restaurant, it is serves pretty good food and has great views both inside and out. We even ate here twice, once inside because it was rainy and then we came back when the weather cleared and ate outside. The burgers are excellent and the clam chowder is above average. Hopefully, the weather will be good when you visit so you can eat outside...the views are great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm local, so know many of our local restaurants. Schooners is a mid-day favorite, with their open air deck, great ocean views, good menu selections, and the very good mussels! The restaurant seems to have shrunk the size of this dish and raised the price somewhat... but I still enjoy the treat. Highly recommended. Never been there for dinner, but suspect it is very nice.

Every time I'm there, I'm impressed with the service... very friendly staff and nice treatment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing