We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food”

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pretentious, 80', inedible. The front desk will push this place on you like crazy: they will try and get you to make a reservation. AVOID.This is one of those places that puts every ingredient known to man into a dish in the misguided belief that this must make it haute cuisine. Every dish is poorly conceived and poorly executed. Yuck.

Room service has a killer Club sandwich. Go for that and skip this placew

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pingufreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, Director of Rooms at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Friend,

I would like to thank this guest for commenting on their recent experience at Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar. I am sorry to hear your expectations were not met. I would appreciate a direct call, so I can learn more about your experience. All feedback is important and helps us to improve. Thank you again for informing us of your concerns and we hope to hear from you. My direct line is 831-645-4004 or e-mail at lstokkebye@montereyplazahotel.com

Sincerely,

Lars Stokkebye

Food and Beverage Director

831-645-4004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    453
    157
    60
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't say enough good stuff!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I asked a local where a good bar was to watch some Sunday football and he immediately recommended Schooners. So glad we took his recommendation! Nothing better than kicking back on a beautiful day, football to one side and an amazing ocean side view to the other! The burgers were fantastic and drinks were great... If you like margaritas, get the "Patio Boss." The clientele is a perfect mix of out of towners and locals, all of them there to have a good time! As if that weren't enough, the service is first rate! If you sit at the bar ask for Anna... She's awesome!!! The kind of bartender that makes it her responsibility to make sure you're enjoying yourself! Next time we're in Monterey, we will most certainly be back!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice. Good service.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stopped in for late night snacks. Very little menu, but decent food. Excellent service though and really relaxed atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We Will Be Back”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our 3rd time at Schooners, all 3 times it's been superb. (it just keeps getting better)
The view is amazing, the food is to die for, we had the Fillet Mignon with Angery Shrimp it was excellent.
The Service was the most pleasant of all we had Nickolas he was a delight, his knowledge of how the dishes are prepared was spot on.
We had Nickolas twice and Sarda once as our server's they were both outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and View”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant in the Monterey Plaza Hotel. It has indoor and outdoor seating. Big picture windows so that you have a terrific view of the bay. You can see otters, sometimes dolphins, kayakers, etc. We live in the area and love taking visitors here just because it is a great place to dine, with something for everyone on the menu. At lunch and dinner, the menu has moderately priced a la carte plates to mich and match. The big secret is breakfast, your can have huevos ranchers with two eggs, tortillas, sour cream, salsa, pinto beans, toast and potatoes for 12.50. The menu offers yogurts, blintzes, omelets, just about anything. They have a bar so for lunch and dinner diners that is available. I truly like this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evi_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing