We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fmazing Foods” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fmazing Foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This restaurant was amazing all the foods was delicious me and my family enjoyed it lot I hope I can go to Italy once more to go to that restaurant and take picture of their foods to show my other families in England .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sana1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    425
    144
    55
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great View, Food, and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel and the restaurant did not disappoint us! The seafood sampler was delicious (juicy, flavorful swordfish!) and the ahi tuna won the prize for best entree at the table. The service was impeccable, yet casual.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank metgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Thanks TA for the recommendation destination experts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Schooners is in the Monterey Plaza Hotel on Cannery Row. It was a nice walk from the aquarium. We did have a little trouble finding it so keep looking. I am listing that it is in the Hotel because, we were not expecting it to be in a hotel.

Usually, we avoid hotel restaurants. Especially for 'local' type specialties. This was a recommendation from some 'TA destination experts' who did not lead us a stray in many other restaurant choices so we tried it and it was wonderful. Thank you so much local experts!

There are both indoor and outdoor seating both with great views of the bay.

This was my chance to have to quentessential chowder in the sourdough bread bowl. I didn't get it in SF as I read stories of thick soups with too much flour & potatoes and not enough clams. That it put me off. but I really wanted to try it. It was on my 'culinary bucket list' I tried it here and it did not disappoint! Good texture not too thick or too thin. Good ratio of potato and veg to clam. Each spoonful finished with a slight cognac flavour which cartainly tasted like 'some more' I can't believe I ate the whole thing down bread bowl and all.

For those that don't want the breadbowl you could get it without.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had lunch here during my stay in Monterey. The fish tacos were tasty although i did find a bone in mine which was a surprise.

Great location and worth the effort to visit,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aks120LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The food was deliciouis. The service excellent. Our waiter was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable in both the food recipes and wine list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing