We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, good fish and chips!”

Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Honest, good fish and chips!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent food, lovely clam chowder. No pretensions, just good food. Very nice atmosphere, at lunch time lots of families, everybody happy.

This is also a fish market where people come to buy fish to cook at home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janelitamirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    271
    61
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No frills eatery, but good”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place is small and gets crowded for dinner, everything is simple, the place, the staff and the menu selection, and not as expensive as elsewhere. The seafood was fresh and tasty and we enjoyed our meal. I had a salmon and it was one of the best in the vacation and the cheapest.
Had dinner 3 times in Monterey and this was our least expensive and most enjoyable meal in Monterey. Go here only for the food, if you want decor, service and scenery go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BronxRican1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a good seafood place and this one was suggested by a local shop owner. We are so glad he did as the food and service were both wonderful! A little off the beaten path, not touristy, family owned with fresh caught fish and crabs. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and I would also come back!

Helpful?
Thank Erikka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I was disappointed.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

There was quite a long wait, the food was not very good although some of it was OK. They should not serve the crab cocktail, it was mushy, obviously previously frozen and shredded. They need to edit their menu and step up their game. I do not mind the casual atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a small, friendly, casual restaurant that serves and sells seafood. We arrived about 1/2 hour after they opened, and were quickly seated.

Our family really enjoyed the lunch. The food and service exceeded our expectations.
(The restaurant was recommended to us by the staff at the hotel we were staying at.)

My son and I had the fish and chips. It was excellent! The fish was fresh, lightly battered and not greasy. Even my picky eater was quietly enjoying his meal.. My spouse had sea bass over a Cesar salad. He commented how fresh and well prepared the sea bass was.

Overall, an excellent meal at a very reasonable price. Get here early for a quiet meal. Otherwise, you may have.to wait for a table as the restaurant fills up quickly during lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing