We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Spot”
Review of Old Monterey Cafe

Old Monterey Cafe
Ranked #2 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast and was promptly seated. I found that service was very attentive and friendly. It was slow on my visit so we had plenty of room but I could see it a little cramped on a busy day.

I ordered a scramble and one pancake. The one pancake was more than enough! Everything was delivered hot and fairly fast. The scramble was good, very well portioned and filling. The pancake was my favorite as it was rather flavorful. My only complaint was that my eggs were a little to greasy and there was way to much onion. Other than that I was very pleased and can't wait to return for another pancake!

This is a great spot if you want to get away from all the tourists. Just a good breakfast place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 559MoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    119
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is a bit crowded and tiny but the food was quite good. The service is super fast and friendly! We would definitely go here again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndeaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Get one of their specialty dishes!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here for breakfast. I had the Castroville (I think) scrambler, which was full of artichoke hearts and truly delicious! My husband got the french toast, which I think he wasted his breakfast choice on since my scrambler was so good! We also got a side of biscuits and gravy since we get that every where we go and it was very yummy. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would go back if we are in town again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is where the locals go”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had breakfast here twice on our trip. The place was full on a weekday. I think that tells you something. I had the Banana panckaes, my wife the French toast. It was delicious. This is the place for breakfast and will will return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
507 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Sort of a local hangout from the look of things. We were very impressed. Prompt seating, got to order right away, very good food, well cooked, tasty, good sized portions, seating not too crowded, the noise level was low, and lots of parking nearby. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Monterey Cafe also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Old Monterey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing